Holding hands!

This is a tag that has been lying in my drafts for a very long time.Why?Because,Usha Pisharody,the person who tagged me has expressed herself so beautifully on the topic that a lot of my time was spent pondering and contemplating what to contribute from my end.Please read her here.
And to top it up,my mother did her own version of the tag here and made a simple gesture of holding hands so much more meaningful.

Now after a lot of thought here I am,with my take on the subject.It may not be much of a shake to read about.Nonetheless I’ve tried my best.Sorry,Usha,for this delay.
By now you must have guaged what the tag is about.Yes,its about holding hands and what it signifies to me.

Wikipedia says
Two or more people voluntarily hold hands for one of the following reasons and purposes:

in various rituals:
handshake
in certain religious services, to pray
in various occult rituals
to express friendship or love
to enjoy physical intimacy (not necessarily of erotic character)
for emotional support
to guide (a child, a blind person, in darkness, etc.)
to urge to follow
to keep together (in a crowd or in darkness)
to help the other walk, stand or climb up
to dance
to arm wrestle

Holding hands,for me,signifies what it is,in regard with the four most important people in my life…

With my parents
Its from them that I learnt to hold hands.They held my hands,as a child to give me the strength and assurance to surge ahead in life.And in the process,a sense of security that even if I fell they would be there to pull me up and guide me to becoming a better person.
Today when I’ve long come out of their shell,become a wife and a mother,there are times when I yearn to be pampered and cuddled.Thats when Achan&Amma hold me close and make me feel like a child again.

With my husband
When we started our journey,Ravs & I held our hands together to tell each other we’ll always be there for each other through thick and thin.We will live each other for and despite what we are.And after all these years we continue to support and compliment each other.Even at times of despair we hold on to each other to give each a sense of comfort.

With my daughter
When I hold her hands I realise how connected she is to me,a part of me.How the roles have reversed.How,now,its a departure,for me,from being guided by my parents to being a guide to my precious little.As I hold her hands I tell her,’Namnam,I may not decide your goal for you,but I do assure you that your father and I will be there to guide you in every which way possible to take the right path towards the goal you choose and support you all along.

Here,I tag the following fellow bloggers as I’m sure it will be a treat to read their views on the subject:

A
Bedazzled
NaplervilleMom
Piper
Ra
Reflections
Renu
Solilo
Sunder
VJ
Wordjunkie

On that note,here’s wishing each and everyone of you visiting my page,a very Happy Valentine’s Day.Let us lock our hands together,stay united and spread as much love as possible.’Cos only then will the world know peace.

NOTE:I’m not able to attach the image of the child properly,as a result the alignment is all hay-wire.Sorry,people,for this distorted view.Hope you have a enjoyable read though:P!

25 thoughts on “Holding hands!

  1. that indeed was a unique way Deeps to hold hands. this post once gain makes me feel what a treasured gem our mol is.u always have very touching and out of the world ways to express urself! great!

    Like

  2. This is so beautifully done, dear Deeps! In fact with just those few beautiful pictures and the message with each, you brought so much of emotion to life!

    Lovely, and may your hands always hold close to you, all that is dear and precious. God Bless!

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you and yours too πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Deep stuff, Deeps! Holding hands hmmm…No wonder you took some time over it…

    Am up for the challenge though (in a while);) Thanks:)

    Like

  4. Deeps, what a beautiful post! But what on earth do I write 😦 I dont think I can ever write something like this! Shall definitely try it out because its a beautiful theme.

    Like

  5. Deeps, This is such a touching tag. I am sure when I take it up I will be in tears writing this. I am an emotional soul when it comes to family.

    I already am misty reading this

    “‘Namnam,I may not decide your goal for you,but I do assure you that your father and I will be there to guide you in every which way possible to take the right path towards the goal you chose and support you all along.”

    Just replace Namnam with my peanut and it is my feeling.

    Happy V-Day Deeps!

    Like

  6. A beautiful tag Deeps!!!! And u’ve done so well.
    U knw loooong back I saw an award winning pic of a well nourished adult hand holding a malnourished black child’s hand….tht scene never quite erased from my mind.

    Like

  7. Ma,Sindhu,Renu,Usha,NM,Piper,Solilo,Bedazzled,VJ,Reflections,thank you all for such kind words.Had been away,so couldnt respond to your comments earlier.
    Will soon visit your pages and catch up with you all:)

    Like

  8. Lady you are awsum, superb, splendid, out of this world. A simple jesture of holding hands and you gave it 100 dimensions. IT was beautiful read πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. @Sashu:Thanks so much:)
    @Reflections:Thanks for tagging me.Will surely do it but it may take some time. You see,my hands are all numb,holding hands…LOL!
    @Datsme:I’m glad you liked the post.Hugs to you for making me feel so good with those words:)

    Like

  10. As parents, irrespective of culture, religion, folkways, mores, etc, the connection we feel when we hold the hand of our child is the same. I often find myself thinking how nice it is to feel my daughters hand in mine … unconditional love … unconditional belief …

    Thanks for sharing

    Tim P.

    Like

  11. Deeps, this was missed on my reader. Do not know it came up suddenly today! So well written πŸ™‚ To me, holding hands defines all the security I need from a person.

    Like

    1. “To me, holding hands defines all the security I need from a person.” So very well put! πŸ™‚

      Its a 3 year old post, Arch..so strange its showing up in the reader now! πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

