A toast to friendship

Friendship is one aspect that has many connotations.We have all been blessed with friends we have cherished for life.Some are we have grown up with,friends from our localities.Some,we made while in school and college.Some,at our workplaces. Many of us have even met people while traveling in a bus,a train or even an airplane and those interactions have bloomed into lasting friendships.

Whoever said we need to meet to become friends?Some of us have even formed life long friendships merely by writing letters to each other or by acquainting ourselves over telephone.How can I not mention,in this context,the arena called ‘Blogosphere’ wherein we keep discovering new friends by way of connecting through words.Yes,Indyeah and Solilo’s friendship is a classic example. They live in two different parts of the world,haven’t met each other even once(at least thats what I gather from their posts & interactions…Abhi,Sols,correct me if I’m wrong)and yet they are the best of friends.And I’m sure there are many such everlasting friendships like theirs that have or are being shaped up beautifully in this space.

I have been blessed with a fair share of friends,myself, who go back to knowing me,from as early as my growing up years to as recent as my life in Oman and Qatar.Now,if I begin to list each and everyone of my friend here,the post will never find an ending. Suffice,then,would it be to say that I treasure each and every friend of mine for life.
Instead let me list down 5 of those special friends who have had a positive influence in my life,who’ve been there in my life for more than 15years and who are still a part of my life.These are people who have been as instrumental in making me the person I am,as my parents.

HEMA: Those who know me,personally,would know Hema too.She is my ‘Best friend’,someone who I trust implicitly with my wildest secrets and craziest fears,someone,who,even if I call in the wee-est of hours,will still be all ears for me.
We’ve known each other from our sixth grades.She was my greatest rival in school.But we never let that affect our relationship.In fact whenever one of us fared better than the other there never lingered a strain or
friction between us.We were always happier for each other than we were for ourselves.
Our love for music is what got us clicked in the beginning.She is a much better singer and has a much better taste in music than I do.

She has always been the calmer of the two of us.So much so,that whenever I get excited and all carried away by situations,she is the one who balances me out.There have been times when I’ve had my faith in the whole being,shaken up.And Hema reinstilled that faith in me and helped me become a better person.

Today at this juncture in our life as much as Hema knows that I will be there for her whenever she needs me come what may,I know too that she is going to be there for me as well.

REN: I’ve known Ren too from school.However it was as we neared our completion of school that we really got to know each other closer.Between the two of us she was definitely the more mature and the more balanced. And that’s how it is even now.I remember how I used to seek her advice on sundry matters and how she always used to be forthcoming.She always had a sensible way of approaching things.

And today she juggles her life between looking after her husband,her two beautiful daughters,home & job amazingly well.And I’m much in awe of her.

We’ve had our ups and downs in our relationship but those have enabled us to bond even stronger as friends.
Today,we may not call or speak as frequently as we used to back in our heydays,but both of us know that we will be there for each other whenever we need each other the most.

RADZ:Now what do I say about her?Our friendship goes back to the time when we were a mere 7year olds. She is more like a sister to me.Although we are just two months apart,I have always felt protective towards her. We have had our share of fun together.I still remember the long evening walks we used to have,looking our best,oozing attitude,to ogle at guys or simply be ogled at and then make a major hue and cry about it!
She cracked me up with her terrific sense of humour. And she still does,by the way.

She is someone who makes it a point to read each of my post without fail,but doesnt believe in leaving comments on my page,instead prefers sharing her views either by calling or simply mailing me.I know she will read this post too.Hence I’m taking this chance to let her know that I love her immensely and she will always always be in my prayers.

SONI:We were known as ‘twin sisters’ at one point of time as we were always together.We were neighbors,went to the same school for sometime.We even sported similar hairstyles,wore similar outfits.
And when she was moving from one city to another because of her father’s transferable job,we made sure to keep in touch regularly by exchanging letters.And we would invariably sign off by saying,’with love your twin sister’!

Today,it saddens me to say that I’ve more or less lost contacts with her.It was as though she wanted to shut herself off her old friends.I tried my best to be in touch by calling her every time I was in India.Then I realized she was never the same old chirpy Soni I knew.She,no longer, made an effort to stay connected.Something had drastically changed her.And she chose to ignore the fact that she still had friends who she could trust.All she had to do was open up.

I know its a matter of just one call and old times will be refreshed.Maybe I WILL call or maybe I should just let her be and give her space.Anywhich way she sure knows she will always be a part of my life.She is,afterall my twin sister.How can I detach her from me?

AK: Initially I had thought that this post would just be about my girl-friends. Then I realized AK was my oldest friend and not acknowledging his presence in my life would be gravely unfair of me.
We’ve known each other from the time we were 2years and a few months.Yes we were,as they say,’chaddi-buddies’!We were next door neighbours which meant we were practically happier being in each other’s houses than our own.Our mothers have fed us,even bathed us,put us to sleep,put up with our endless havocs and histrionics around the house.In fact AK even has a snap that his father took wherein we were holed up in a cardboard box and playing peek-a-boo! We were so close knit that I called his mother ‘Amma’ and strangely he calls mine ‘Edthi’ which means big sister in Malayalam!We still address them in the same manner.

Even though I’m a few months older than him,he has always had a big-brotherly approach towards me.He has always made me feel I can count on him,come what may.He has valued our friendship very dearly,probably even more than I have. To this day,he makes it a point to stay in touch.Even when I fail to call him or meet him,he makes sure to come and meet me,no matter which corner of the city he is.And that’s what makes me feel blessed to have him for a friend.

Now its a different story,though.I’ve been given an ultimatum by him.I have to go and bless AK and his beautiful wife,who he married a few days back,else our friendship goes on a red-alert zone!

We’ve all been hurt by our friends,some of us may have even been jilted by them at some point and there have been times when WE have been thoughtless with our actions or words towards our friends.Yet we never stop making new friends or believing in friendship.And that’s what the beauty is. So heres to us.Heres to friendship!

On that note lets enjoy this beautiful song.This is not only for the friends that I’ve met but also those I’ve not but have had the good fortune of knowing through the wonderful medium of blogging.

A food for thought:Why dont you all take this up as a tag and list down 5 of your friends who have made a difference to your life?If you have more than 5 in your list,bring it on!The more the merrier πŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “A toast to friendship

  1. Lovely post Deeps .. left me teary-eyed. Friendship is a wonderful gift of God and I consider myself blessed to be in the midst of so many of them.
    Esp. with the blog friends .. I consider it nothing short of a miracle .. haven’t seen/heard each other but we speak as though we have known each other for ages πŸ™‚

    D: Awww..you’re teary eyed?? (((HUGS)))
    This post was something I had had in mind for sometime. You’re right,Swaram..friendship in any form is a blessing:)

    Like

  2. whew what a logn post… I have to come back to read… !!! πŸ™‚

    ha ha…but make sure you bring some onion pakodas with you when u come back to read πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ …let us get a taste of your cooking too,what say??

    Like

    1. Onion Pakoda’s !! lol… they were gobbled on Sunday and now err…. never mind… πŸ˜›

      Lovely post… friends are the the most precious things we have in life… !!!

      Without friends life is really not much fun is it ???

      D: Arre what fun….its like making your own pakodas and having them all for yourself πŸ˜› ….I know I know its a PJ… hmmphh!!

      Lovely post… !

      D:Thanks,Hitchy πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Thats very well written Deeps…its so true how important these friends are in our life. I read somewhere that u dont choose your parents nor your relatives but what u choose is friends, and see how close we get to them. We share all our happiness..sorrows with them.

    Its was a nice post to acknowledge and appreciate your friends for being with u. True friends are shadow of God according to me as u can rely on them n be assured that they will guide u to the correct path n not the wrong path.

    D: yes so very true,Nazish..you’ve said it so beautifully πŸ™‚

    Yup ppl do change sometimes but that can be of various reasons!!!

    Nice post…..n howz your daughter….going to kindergarden!!

    D: Namnam is fine and really looking forward to going to school…we’re still in the process of choosing the right one though

    take care

    D:Thanks πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Beautiful post, Deeps. That was so touching! Your friends are lucky to have a friend like you too πŸ™‚

    D:thats so so sweet of you.. (((HUGS)))

    Yes, friends are one of the blessings of life, aren’t they?

    D:Absolutely,Smits..they are πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. And now tell me what do I write Deeps?
    πŸ™‚
    this post is so from the heart and so beautiful that I also felt teary eyed thinking of my friends…

    D:Awww…let me give you a tight hug πŸ™‚

    the ones whom I have met in life and the ones whom even though I have never met and yet it seems as if I have known them forever….

    (((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))))
    will come back to write more because I want to write loads πŸ™‚

    D:Will be waiting,Abhi..would love to hear more from you πŸ™‚
    thank you sweetie for being such a darling and mentioning the friendship in your cute manner πŸ™‚

    D:I could not think of a better example to give…it was worth mentioning,deary πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. lovely post !!!
    you are really blessed to have such good friends and those who have lasted for so many years !!

    D: Thanks so much,VJ..that was so sweet of you:)

    Like

  7. Hi Deepti,

    As usual your innate simplicity and honesty in this post is touching. There is something about your blogs which always touches a familiar chord in my heart somewhere..It really made my eyes moist …

    D: You’re always so kind with your words,Rekha…thanks so much. (((HUGS)))

    Yes I have seen your friendship with Hema at school, and am so happy to see that you guys are still in touch.

    I really feel that all these people are really lucky to have such a caring friend like you.

    God bless
    Rekha

    D:God bless you too πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. I have tagged u Deeps … pick it up if u find it interesting. Wud lv to read urs πŸ™‚

    D: thanks for tagging me,Swaram..shall take it up for sure πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Friends…….its a topic all of us can write about but each of us will give off a different flavour.
    All your friendships sounds so good & in the process some of ur wonderful qualities also are visible:-).
    God Bless!!!!!!!!!!!!

    D: Thank you,Nance…you’re right we all have different flavours to share about friendship.

    Like

  10. came here bloghopping. lovely blog you’ve got here! this post on friendship is really amazing…

    D: Welcome to my space,Rohini.Glad you liked the post πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Wonderful post dear…. but the “red-alert zone” is still valid till we meet… no relaxation on that count… [;)]

    D: I know,re…I’m dreading that zone…dont worry,I’ll make sure this time I dont go back on my word πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. amazing piece on acknowledgment..another great example is Sj and Sakshi..two wonderful friends i met thru blogosphere!!

    D: Yes,Sj & Sakshi are two wonderful bloggers even I’ve been fortunate to know.

    i love the way u say thanks to the specials ones around u..its always needed.Somewhere i feel, each one of us completes the other!!

    D:Yes,Rush,our friends are an integral part of our lives πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. Hi Deeps πŸ™‚
    I am back

    D: yoohoo πŸ™‚
    You know I never said this but I have to after this post πŸ™‚

    You are such a sweetheart who is always so full of warmth and love specially whenever you have left a comment on my space πŸ™‚
    so THANK YOU for that πŸ™‚

    ((hugs)))
    D: Awww…(((hugs)))I say what I do in your space because you really move me with every post of yours,Abhi.You have a quality of making your readers relate with you and feel much closer to you. Your words reflect the kind of passionate and lovely person you are πŸ™‚

    and about friendship?
    Your love for all those who are special in your life shines through in your words here πŸ™‚

    and you know whats the most impressive?
    the fact that you have nurtured these relationships over such a long period of time πŸ™‚
    that tells me so much about the kind of amazing person you are πŸ™‚

    For, very few have this ability to carry relationships forward πŸ™‚

    D: Abhi,I know,sitting so far away in Delhi,you cant see me,but I’m actually floating in air,believe me!!
    (((hugs))))

    muah! πŸ˜€

    D: muah muah,sweety,thanks so much for those words

    Like

  14. Deeps do add your blogurl to your name so that you can leave a link whenever you comment πŸ™‚
    the option is there in WP πŸ™‚

    D: Will mail you…I dont think I’m getting it right.I’m just not able to link it up while being logged in to WP!

    Like

  15. πŸ™‚ Lovely post Deeps! Lovely,lovely,lovely!
    The song brought back a lot many childhood memories. Me and my bestest pal J would listen to this song together. We still do, though we havent met each other for a number of years now..
    Hugs to you. You just made my day πŸ™‚
    D: Awwww…thank you thank you so much…now YOU made my day,Mishy πŸ™‚
    (((HUGS)))

    Like

  16. awwww Deeps!!!!!
    what a post to make friends with u over!!!
    HUGS!

    D:Oh yes,I’m glad we’re friends,Crafty πŸ™‚ (((HUGS)))…

    this was truly beautiful!!!

    solilo n Indyeah! touchwood!!! they are precious, the two of those girls!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    touchwood on having these friends Deeps…says a lot about u, u know…that u are a great friend to have too! πŸ™‚

    loved it!

    D: Thank you,sweety πŸ™‚

    Like

  17. Took a long time to read this and I found that you are not on my list, I had it I had changed it to your wordpress one and I suppose it wasn’t added there!

    D: I knew u were busy with K’s exams and I also knew you would come by when you had the time πŸ™‚
    About your post, so touching and sweet. You are a warm person and I am not surprised to see the close knit friendship you have maintained over the years…

    D: thank you so much,re….(((HUGS)))

    Like

  18. Deeps, That’s a beautiful dedication. You are lucky and your friends are luckier because they have a beautiful soul as their friend.

    D: First thing’s first…welcome back,Sols…how was your mini-break?? feeling all rejuvenated and kicked up to blog,blog and blog?? πŸ˜€

    The way you have described them shows how important they are in your life and their influence on you. You know them so well because you took the time for them. You are a sweet person Deeps and I know that from our interaction.

    D: Awww..thats so sweet of you to have said that.The feelings are mutual,trust me,Solilo. I’ve been as blessed to have found a friend in you πŸ™‚

    God bless you and your friends! and long live the friendship.

    D: Amen,my dear πŸ™‚

    If I sit and write a list then it will be tough for me to choose but I will have to put one friend for sure. She is someone who brought a big change in me by hurting me. Such friends are also important to see how people change and how we should be aware of what people can do to you unawares. I became stronger..thanks to her. πŸ™‚
    She apologized to me years later. We are still friends…but it is just not the same.

    D: Thats unfortunate. Yes we do come across people who we consider friends but who end up hurting us knowingly or unknowingly.And those experiences really make us wiser.

    Thanks for putting Indy and my name here. So sweet of you, Deeps. You are right. We haven’t met yet. But the beauty is, we don’t have to. We have never prodded each other for any personal questions. If one of us share it then it is fine else we never bothered. We didn’t even ask each other’s real name till we decided to share. We do surprise each other at times through phone calls and then talking for almost an hour about god knows what. πŸ˜† Indyeah is a sweet soul.

    D: Solilo,some people,despite not having met,do make you feel as though you have known them forever. Indy & You are very lucky to have known each other. God bless you both πŸ™‚

    Like

  19. me want ur and Ak’s peek a boo pic on ur next post!! Yeah it’s true abt friends what will the world be if you don’t have friends…I live, breath, cry and laugh on friends…

    D: For the snap I really need to ask AK as he has the copyright for it πŸ˜€

    Btw I made some awesome frds on blogsphere and SJ and U are one among such great people πŸ™‚

    D: You are an amazing person yourself,Sakshi and I’m really fortunate to have known you through this medium of blogging πŸ™‚
    (((HUGS)))

    Like

  20. This is such a sweet post, Deeps… I just picked a random one, to read, for it has been such a long while since I had visited your space, and something gentle and uplifting is what I found when this post appeared πŸ™‚ A coincidence or what, I wonder. More than a coincidence I would like to think, esp. finding this close to Friendship Day πŸ™‚

    Happy Frienship Day , belated though it is, to you again.

    D: Thank you so very much,Ushus.Wish you too the same πŸ™‚

    I really liked the way you shared those memories, and the generosity of your spirit, and your understanding even with the twin who has not been as close for a long time… πŸ™‚ As you say, perhaps in time she will open up.

    D: Yes I sincerely hope so πŸ™‚

    Bless you, Deeps, you have a heart of gold πŸ™‚

    D: Awww…coming from such a warm and a darling of a person like you,Ushus,it means the world to me.Thank you πŸ™‚

    Like

  21. Beautiful post Di! πŸ™‚ I know Hema Di and Rennie Di. I can still remember you guys sitting beneath the Peepal Tree in school, singing the prayer on stage together. Friendship indeed makes us a better person. Loved knowing your best 5. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

