How do you do it???

Seriously,how do you do it,people? I just cant seem to get it right.Now I have about 30 blogs on my blogroll which I follow religiously.I’ve subscribed to some,on my blogsurfer,some have been listed on my sidebar here and some are still active on my blogspot page.With each blogger having to offer a treasure of a read I wouldnt want to miss it for the world,would I?So I literally frog-hop from one space to the other just in time to be able to read the latest post.Not to mention the plethora of blogs that I keep discovering over and above the ones already on my blogroll.So what happens is,in my rush to make it in time I miss out on reading quite a bit of posts.And in the midst of all this,I,of course have my own page to think about-about what to post next!
pulling hair
Thats not it.I have two pages on Facebook&Orkut which I keep a track of daily along with the blogpage.I use the former,more to play wordtwist and a few other word games with my friends πŸ˜› and the latter is to stay connected with my friends.Orkut has been a real boon where getting reconnected with my school and college friends are concerned.The friends I thought I had lost complete touch after passing out of school have sprung up and relinked thanks to Orkut.

I can understand if I have to just respond to the scraps and wall messages.But what about the zillion number of applications that get thrown at me like a ‘pass-the-cushion’ game?Some,I agree,are worth giving a shot.But some are utterly preposterous.Else how do you explain a request to drink a can of coke or a beer or a request to judge how good a kisser I am or how fat or slim I am by answering a few sundry questions??
Dont even get me started on the umpteen friend invites that I get from people I’ve not met in my life,neither have I had a mail exchange nor a tele-chat and yet they want the best for me and they want me to take good care of myself because they consider me my ‘friend’! Oh yes that ‘hiiiiiiiiiiii’ is sure hard to miss as hilariously explained by Shail here.I read that many months ago and ever since,every time I get pinged with a random hi-cum-friend-invite her post is what comes to my mind.

In all this hoopla of hopping helter-skelter from one site to the other I have to also surf for good playschools for my daughter.I have to visit each of the school’s website to know what they have to offer,how good they are and all of that.And then I have to keep myself abreast of whats happening around the world through the eyes of the internet at times when I dont get to watch TV or I’m barred to watch when Barney series is on.

Gosh this multitasking..err…multisurfing is so not my cup of tea!

42 thoughts on “How do you do it???

  1. ohh, you play word games at FB?? I am forever scrambl-ing and scrabbl-ing that I see alphabets in my sleeping and waking state! Besides I alos have a virtual farm, not to mention … ahem a couple of (multiplied by two) blog pages. I also blog hop a lot besides visiting my friends’ pages. Phew sometimes it all gets too much. I mean I don’t have any problem… but my eyes refuse to go along with me and ask for a rest. Wish I had an extra pair! πŸ˜›

    D: πŸ˜† ! Now I really need to know your secret,Shail..you remember our pact,dont you about our meeting up?? I think its time we fixed up one πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I can imagine how tough it is for you with a small kid around which is not the case with me.
    And oh yeah, those Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii-s are maddening!

    Like

  2. Hail to you mighty Deeps!! I will be definitely forgive you if you don’t visit my blog, anyways I only write utter nonsense and reading it might numb your brain and cause you to forget how to play those word games πŸ˜›
    D: Oh please,SJ…you have no idea what your posts are worth. With your humourous take on issues you have this inane quality of putting sense into any non-sensical mind.
    Noone is to blamed but me…I just have not been able to visit you that much because of my sheer lack of time management skills. This is precisely the reason for this rant :). I hope to get better by the day,else as Sakshi says threat is the only key,I guess πŸ™‚

    I deleted my FB account only for that reason – make a farm choose an animal, join the lab building game, what animal are you? ufff…
    But you do it all! Wow!

    oh yeah before I forget, BYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!

    D:There you goooooooo πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I used to be a total scrabble addict but thanks to blogging I dont even touch that game in fb and orkut i only load pics… and dont understand much… !!

    Throughout the day in office I hav so much work that whole day I keep commenting and bloggin !!!!!!! sheeeeeesh… wrong person to ask this question really…

    D: So you think commenting and blogging are part of your job,huh…good work,Hitchy..thats the spirit πŸ˜€ ! I’ve much to learn from you!

    Like

  4. Well I am giving you my expert advice and trust me it works as you can see I urinate comments, that too in multi paragraphs everywhere. You ready to follow me?? Ok I blog hop and do all the internet surfing to my heart’s content when my husband and son is glued to the TV watching Federer play….heee…Try it will work beautifully for u..Ouch!!

    D: Helloooo..do you really think I will be game for anything else,when Federer is playing???

    Btw I give you 24 hours to drag urself to my blog and see that photo tag you made me do!! (see threatening and pestering from fellow bloggers also make you an efficient multsurfer) your time starts now…..

    D: Oye,I’ve already left a comment on your page….trust me the threat is having an effect and now I’m tempted to brush up my skills at spraying some ‘teris’ at you..remember we still have a round of rumble unfinished??? πŸ˜†

    Like

  5. Hee heee .. Am so so so happy Deeps .. in the midst of all these, u do visit my blog n comment on each of my dabba chaupat posts πŸ˜›

    D: arre,those dabba chaupat posts of yours are a riot to read,Swaram πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. feels like you have read my mind. Cant cope with it all..commenting, thinking abt the next post, keeping track of the network sites.. and to top it all being extremely low tech!!!

    D: There goes another similarity…we’re on a roll aren’t we,Sujata? So you’re looking for an answer too? 😦

    Like

  7. Hi, blog-hopped from Sakshi. Facebook has been a boon .I reconnected with all my friends through it. But blogging has become an obsession and I dont know how to handle it.

    D: Welcome to my page,Aparna πŸ™‚ . I know blogging is quite addictive πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. I am on facebook and orkut but I am not active on both..

    all conversations with close friends happen over phone so dont see the need for the social networking sites( cant bring myself to delete the accounts 😦 though )

    and really I have to ask now how do YOU do it?
    :O
    coz I am sans responsibility for now..but you are busy…then HOW? :O

    D: C’mon,Abhi,now you’re pepping me up! I’m sure you have a fair amount of responsibilities of your own in your platter like teaching,writing,to list a few. And in the midst of all this you manage to take time out to visit each and every blog and leave a detailed comment in there…so now you have to divulge the trade secret,my dear πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. lol@trade secret! πŸ˜›
      I wish a day had more than 24 hours :/

      D: ha ha ha…its justified for you to feel that way,Abhi..you have your job,home,writing, and then blog-hopping( πŸ˜‰ )so many things going on at the same time. But I feel so too and how am I justified..I’m just sitting at home tapping away to glory and still feeling pressed for time πŸ˜€ ??

      Like

  9. lol..i guess everyone is saling on the same page…hitch hiking from one blog to the other!!
    is it a free ride? definitely not!!

    the faster the internet..u are wasting time at a greater speed!!

    D: ha ha ha…good one,Rush πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. And I thought u were an expert…I am wonderstruck by the constant FB comments people put up …I don’t find the time nor the energy..though I religiously go by all the social networking sites.

    D: Expert???..hmmmpphh! You’ve no idea,Sindhu,about the amount of scorns & roars I’ve to endure when I’m even close to my laptop. He has even threatened to install a time-monitor in my comp!So you can imagine how much of a maniac I must be to attain that status πŸ˜€

    Like

  11. hahaha…todays world is all about multitasking or multi surfing !!! I know its a bit tough to keep track on all the blogs that u like and even the accounts of fb and orkut….but these social websites have really helped us to reach out to all our old school mates! these have become a part of our life as a matter of fact i tell u its difficult to stay without these.
    its like Google is in our blood now…lol!!!

    D: Ha Ha Ha!! They are the necessary evil now πŸ˜€

    still searching for a playschool for your daughter…education system is making life more tough for parents!!!
    Inshaallah i hope you soon find a good playschool for your daughter!!!

    D: Inshah allah,Nazish! Its quite a task to zero in on that one perfect school for your child…come to think of it,this is just the beginning!

    take care!!!!
    D: You too πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. So no one knows the answer, huh? Me neither ! I dont even have a reader (im illiterate), and i visit the blogs based on the updates that come on my blogroll ! Blogs, orkut, gtalk, yahoo, office mails (in the order πŸ˜‰ ) ; its starting to get difficult !!!

    D: I tell ya,the internet is really taking control of our lives πŸ˜€

    Like

  13. Me ready for the theri round as I have been practicing the malayalam theris quiet religiously on my Postman and he smiles throughout πŸ™‚

    D: No wonder the postman is bombarding you with all and sundry mails at your doorstep. All he is doing is following the zero-tolerance policy of his country to anything remotely terrorizing.. πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

    Like

  14. I am not on any social networking sites. So it is blogging and blog hopping for me. I never think about what to write next. I blog only when something comes up in my mind else I am usually blog hopping and replying to comments on my blog.

    I don’t like chatting on messenger too. I chat very rarely. Only thing for me is e-mails. I also screen my phone calls and talk only if I am in the mood or if I find it urgent.

    D: Whoa,screen your phone calls,huh? I’m quite dependent on chatting because thats how I stay in touch with my parents and my father-in-law.I talk to them through the messenger.

    Now I have to ask you Deeps, How you do it? Ha..ha..ha.. πŸ˜† πŸ˜†
    D: *Deeps has this modest ‘its-an-inborn-talent-expression’ on her face*… πŸ˜†

    BTW on my cousin’s persistence I registered at Twitter yesterday and am already bored.

    D: Have to say,didnt like it one bit myself,although I do update my fb status quite regularly. But I didnt feel very comfortable with twitter.

    Like

    1. Chatting and the phone calls isn’t applicable to family. I talk to them daily and chat/webcam too.

      I am talking about others. πŸ™‚

      I anyways added my tweets to blog.

      D: πŸ™‚

      Like

  15. ha ha ha…how do you do it deeps πŸ™‚ So much in so little time :D.

    I am on facebook, orkut and twitter. I don’t orkut at all nowadays except to check if there are any scraps for me. Then again it’s not too many so i don’t have the difficulty of replying. Facebook too, I log in just to check messages. i am done with applications and games and quizzes. bored with them. twitter is quick. so not too much time there. When I’m not writing a post, I use at least 1 hr a day to blog hop and comment. So I do find time to watch TV/movies, browse the web for other stuff or listen to music. Actually I multitast between watching TV and blog surfing. Like solilo I am very selective in my phone calls and screen whom I want to talk to. If I am not in the mood to talk, I just let it go to voice mail or follow it up with an email later πŸ˜€

    Like

        1. Hey I dreamt of you today during my afternoon nap. You, Goofy mumma, Iya, and I drove 9hrs on a trip to the Grand Canyon :). Ha ha ha it was super duper πŸ™‚

          Oh My Gawd(the Janice style) πŸ˜€ …I came in your dreams??So GM,Iya&I are having quite an impact in your life,huh? And Grand Canyon is a place I’m hoping I’ll get to visit at some point in my life. Chalo its nice to know I’m close to reaching there….albeit in someone’s dream πŸ˜€

          Like

  16. Hi Deepti,

    Thanks for those comments dear. Yes, I was also misty eyed when I wrote that .. No I do not have her email id, I had looked for her in Orkut, facebook etc. no luck..

    Your post is about the ‘most hot topic’, I mean these things go on in every net surfers mind.. and yes sure .. it is multi tasking…errr. multisurfing like you rightly said πŸ˜‰

    warm regards
    Rekha

    Like

  17. I rarely use my face book.I had orkut account and that is banned here, before i was not using that much .
    Some how i take out time to blog hop and comment and i write very rarely on my blog πŸ™‚

    Before i started blogging i used to read 3-4 online newspapers,now not getting time to do read much.

    My yahoo messenger is always open as i chat with my sisters and my blog friends.Usually i chat with them when kids are sleeping.Once they get up i will be watching cartoon with them,if not my younger kid will bang my laptop

    Like

    1. D: LOL…I normally access internet in the mornings when Namnam is sleeping or in the evenings while she is watching her TV shows or occupied with her toys.Or sometimes when I’m in a confused state such as now,I’m logged in most of the day,hopping helter-skelter πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

      Like

      1. which profile you visit to play games?

        D: There are some good word games in Facebook and I think Orkut too has some games to offer.Havent tried Orkut though.

        Like

  18. oh god deeps!
    i am two days late for ur post, so i guess i ain’t doing that great either! 😦

    me not on facebook or orkut! only on blogging n blog hopping n crazy commenting! πŸ˜›

    but really! hats off! u seem to be multitasking and doing a good job at it!!! πŸ˜€

    even with only blog hopping, i am doing it waaay past midnight…(pliss to note the time of this comment too πŸ˜› ) lol!

    D: Ha Ha Ha..but you took the time out to come by my page,na,that means a lot,crafty:)

    chats..well, only with close friends…

    my tv viewing has decreased a lot since last few months of blogging! πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    D: And mine because my daughter doesnt let me watch and if I switch on the TV she insists on watching her shows,so to avoid that from turning into an obsession I’ve chosen to keep it switched off πŸ™‚

    i say, lets put our feet up and relax…..oh wait! that’s the reader! someone’s posted!!!!
    lets go!!!!!!!!!

    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Thanks Crafty for letting knw that u r on neither πŸ˜›
      I ws scanning Hitchy’s list to find which one mite be Crafty πŸ˜‰

      My Orkut acc ws dead for long until I some ppl from the blog samaj connected with me n I use it only to view photos … FB for contacts with the school n college walas … Twitter ka to mahasamadhi ho gaya πŸ˜›

      Hats Off to U Deeps if u do keep track of FB n Orkut also!

      D: hee hee now you are cracking me up,Swaram πŸ˜†

      Like

      1. twitter ka toh maha samadhi ho gaya????

        *crafty is clinging to deeps shoulder while laughing like hell*

        omg swaram!!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
        if i was on orkut or facebook, obviously i wud have had u guys added na??!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        Like

  19. uff…such a complicated world na… :p

    imagine life without all this?

    cant no?

    i try to remain updated but miss out quite a bit…coz in between blog, FB, orkut, twitter, cricinfo…i also have work! πŸ˜‰

    D: Ha Ha Ha..also have work to do,huh?? good one πŸ™‚

    Like

  20. Wow! Deeps, how do you manage all this? I am on Facebook and Orkut – am more active on Orkut. As in, I reply to scraps and once in a while wish friends on their b’days πŸ™‚ I have not uploaded pics for a year now 😦 and facebook, is another story – it has started sending me reminders that I have not logged in for very long πŸ™‚

    D: πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

    I blog and blog hop – in between cleaning, cooking, ironing – everything πŸ™‚ But am not doing a great job at it these days – have a 1000 + unread posts permanently these days. Have a browser open to my CV – and am doing nothing with it 😦 , have a book on my certification – which I am supposed to be taking – open but not progressing beyond 2 pages 😦 Have to take a break from blogging, I think , to get my life in order πŸ™‚

    I am amazed that you manage so much!

    D: Oh no,Smits its really hard for me to manage.In fact I’m totally opposite of ‘managing well’. I’m able to access it regularly right now because R is touring so I’m not as pressed for time as I normally am.
    And dont think about taking a break,yar..I’m sure we will find a way out to ease ourselves while still blogging πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Arre Smithu .. God has given bloggers extra in-built talent n energy πŸ˜› so that we dont stop blogging for whatever reason πŸ˜‰

      And plssssss login to FB n accept my request πŸ˜›

      Like

  21. Precisely my qstn!!!! Actually in the normal course, I spend the whole day surfing, reading blogs, writing comments or posts. And then hurriedly prepare dinner before The G comes back :):) Now of course, I`m literally having to stay up late to read my fav blogs. And hence the late comments :):)

    D: LOL…but you make sure to drop by and leave your comments howsoever late you maybe…you’re sweet,Mishy πŸ™‚
    (((HUGS)))
    Now go,serve dinner to G πŸ˜€ !!

    Like

  22. having the same problem too !!
    just cant find the time for anything.. wish I could manage better

    D: Ha Ha,so I have company πŸ˜€ !! Take it easy,VJ.I’m sure you’ll find your flow in time πŸ™‚

    Like

  23. hee hee .. i know , our lives are so difficult !! .. i also have arond 20-30 blogs on the blogroll and out of these atleast 15 post regularly .. no wonder i am not able to do justice in eaving comments .. its like i have 3 minutes to read and leave comments ..and try to leave coherent comment at that .. Phew .. i need some rest now πŸ˜‰

    D: Ha Ha Ha..I relieve you,go now take some rest πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

