Weekend update

The weekend gone by was long,but eventful.Long,because R was off on Friday & Saturday,both. Since he was touring the whole of last week,the long weekend was a sure shot chance to cash in on some much needed family-time.Not to mention,a chance for Namnam to attain a state of ‘nirvana’ from the increased bickering from momma,thanks to being holed up inside the house,with her for good 6 days and not having Papa around to run to for a shoulder to lean on and an ear to conspire against! Precisely one of the reasons why I have started my driving lessons so that I can be mobile and take her out as and when she feels charged up!

We started our weekend masti on thursday evening by going to Cafe Ceramique. Now,as many of you must be aware,Cafe Ceramique is this cool,stylish haven wherein kids and grownups,alike,can hangout,have a cup of coffee or a glass of juice,munch a few tid-bits,and splash out their creativity with paints on ceramics of different shapes and sizes.
Now Namnam has been quite fascinated with painting and sketching lately.Proof of which is the manner in which she refuses to outgrow scribbling on the walls of our house.She has not spared even magazines,my notepads,her own books,despite our constant scowls and scoldings.
So,in order to give a varied outlet for her new fascination,we took her to the cafe where she got to paint to her heart’s content in one of the ceramics while munching on fish fingers and R & I had our Greek Salad & Turkish coffee.

Next day,being Friday,we woke up quite late.Once the day started settling in,we decided to go to Hyatt Plaza.I had to buy some drawing sheets and erasers for Namnam from DAISO.
Now,on a given day,its a major tussle stepping out of the house with Namnam.Oh no,its not that she hates going out.She loves any outing. Its the whole process of going out that gets in the way.She decides which dress to wear,what hairband to put,what footwear to use.Nothing that I chose pleases her.And when she picks up something that I’ve put for washing and insists on wearing nothing else but that,our house is literally transformed into a ‘WAR ZONE’!
But,on Friday,the mere mention of ‘drawing sheet’ was enough to turn her into a model-daughter.Not once did she defy me while getting ready.Wow those sure were two magic words!
And throughout the drive she was jumping and shrieking with joy saying,”nammal DAI-na-SO pova(We’re going to DAI-na-SO),Yay!!”I know,I know,that sounds like Dinosaur.By the way,did I mention she has a huge crush on Barney?Yes yes,she has.She even mumbles his name in her sleep!

Honestly,I didnt even go about correcting her.I so wanted to hear her say DAINASO a few more times!I know,this phase is short-lived too.In no time she will be rattling off with all her grammar and diction well in place.But,as a mother,these are some of the moments that I want to hold on to and not let go.

Then,from Daiso,we headed off to Jungle Zone,a play zone for kids,where Namnam had a whale of a time taking car rides,train rides,plane rides.She zoomed down the slides,through the tunnels,rolled in the ball pond.And by the time we got back home in the evening we were dead tired.Yet I had a wide grin on my face as I realized the next day was a holiday too.

I woke up early the next morning as I had to go for my driving classes,but the father-daughter duo had a blissful sleep till late in the day.The day,more or less,was about lazing and lounging around.We,briefly,went out to Jarir Bookstore to buy some books for me and Namnam.
In the course of the day,Namnam fell off the bed while twisting and twirling with one of R’s shirts and bruised her left ear.Thankfully it was not grave,so we didnt have to take her to the doc.A few ice packs were enough to ease the pain.And she was up and ready to have her supper.Then she went off to sleep and R&I snuggled up with a bowl of maggi and ‘Friends’ for some U&I time πŸ˜‰ .

As it turned out,it was a weekend well spent.So,how was yours,people?

32 thoughts on “Weekend update

  1. Deeps, That sounded like a wonderful weekend! NamNam sounds like she had a great time!

    ‘DAI-na-SO’ so sweet! You know, I already feel that Poohi is getting older too quickly 😦 Give NamNam an extra tight hug and ummas to dear NamNam! She sounds so cute!

    D: Ummas & tight hugs reciprocated duly by Namnam to Smithaaunty & Poohi πŸ™‚

    You’ve started driving lessons too? How is it there? Is it easy to get the license there?

    D: Yep!I’m finding it relatively easy,Smits,because I used to drive back home in Delhi.And I loved it then.I just needed a reason to drive you know πŸ˜€ ! So here too I’m pretty excited about the whole thing.The only hiccup here was getting used to the left-hand side driving.Now,however I’ve got a hang of it.
    I’ve heard the authorities are a bit lenient to women here,as far as giving licence is concerned.I’ll know for sure when I’m up for my driving test though!

    Maggi and ‘Friends’ – the perfect combination!!! Now I am dying to lay my hands on Maggi!

    Do it do it..and let me know how it turned out…not the maggi,but the snuggling up πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. So cafe ceramique has got one loyal customer now….I have grown ( rather my daughter ) out of Barney…the final song would be soothing..v r happy family….
    soon u may have to find a art teacher…

    oh you wake up so late to realise that you need a driving license..so it is the same drum, slope , road test? you have gone for a package or hourly?

    D: Here there are 4 levels in the test.First,its the theory test,then its ‘L’ parking(a combination of slope and reverse),then straight parking where in you’ll have to park the car in a narrow box with poles on either side and then finally the road test!I’ve taken up a package in which I’ll be given 3test attempts.

    By the way , it is going to be a lazy week….today is a holiday for ascension day? hope u people also have got..plus on 23rd renaissance day we are off too..so no work for the entire week…

    D: Thats great.So,you’re up for a long weekend too,huh?Where are you off to?Dubai or Salalah??

    Like

    1. So which level you are in now? All the best for your test..may be during ramadhan they should be bit easy going..
      D: Hey,thanks,Sunder.I’m yet to register for my first test.I’m hoping I’ll get a date next week.Lets c πŸ™‚

      you know here , they announce the holidays at the last moment…today we came to know that sat is off…with schools reopening next week…it should be inside muscat only..with weather still hot and humid..

      D: Great! Have fun πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Wow! What a weekend that was πŸ™‚

    Splash out their creativity with paints on ceramics of different shapes and sizes – I feel like doing that too now πŸ˜›

    D: I’m sure Namnam will not leave your side if she were with you πŸ™‚

    N Namnam wants to choose all the things she wants to wear – how sweet na πŸ˜› [I know it must be tough for u @ times but me with Nammu darling]

    D: Bachu,tumhara bhi time aayega,tab dekhte hai πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    DAI-na-SO is so cute πŸ˜‰

    Oh 😦 Hope the left ear doesn’t hurt much!

    D: OH,she is fine now,thanks so much πŸ™‚

    Maggi n Friends n some Hum-tum time – Bliss na πŸ™‚

    D: Totally πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Nice weekend for you two and your Namnam! She looks cute, sound cute! As you said, let her do the baby talk for as long as possible. It will be fun to watch them fighting with us mothers, with the baby language! once they grow up and talk perfectly and we will have a perfect fight too!

    D: Ha Ha Ha!
    Enjoy, Deeps!

    D: Thank you so much,Sandhya πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Wish I could be a child again… that sounds so lovely….

    Deeps any adoption plans for 33 year olds ????

    D: Ok,now you’re the only one who answered my question about how well the weekend was spent.So that officially qualifies you to be adopted by me. Unless you have no problems being adopted by someone 2years younger to you πŸ˜›
    Bolo,beta,taiyyar ho is mummy ki phatkaar khaane ??? πŸ˜€

    lol….

    Here Hriday had to see Harry Potter… badly… Me hates it very much… but I have my bro & his wife who are crazy so they took them out…

    leaving us two alone and it was good to go our and eat at various stalls… we munched samosa, kachori, faradi petis, sabudana khichdi, pani poori and bhutte ki kees… at our old Sharafa market in Indore… it was a totally Bhukkad time…

    D: WOW!,Sumptuous..YUM!!

    Like

      1. Mujh jaise Bhukkhado ko kisi ki nazar nahi lagti… hamari nazar doosro ko lagti hai…. πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

        D: Whats with this new gravatar,huh?? Its too misleading,ok?? doesnt match with the bukkad profile for sure πŸ˜€

        Like

    1. Did I ask what your age was ????

      I just asked if you wanted to adopt me… so much for making me sound even older…. 😦

      D: ***An announcement-Hitchy has blog-ifficially been adopted by Deeps,please ignore any age remarks***
      Ok,now give me that wide toothy-grin,betaji πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Like

      1. lol….

        now mujhe picture dikhao… popcorn khilao… rides main bithao….

        chocolats… geeeeeeee…. !!!!!!!!

        πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        D: Pehle kaam karo uske baad picture,popcorn,rides sab milega…..nahi toh pitti milegi πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        Like

    2. Me too answered ur qs Deeps .. that too in the form of one longggg post πŸ˜›

      D: I read that,re and i even left a comment there.You sure had a blast!
      (((HUGS)))
      *MUAH* πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. You’re taking driving lessons? Good luck!!!

    How is it in Doha? Easy or they make you go thru hell?

    In Dubai, it is madness!

    D: Thank you,Masood. I’ll need that luck when I go for my test πŸ™‚
    As I told Smitha,the authorities,here, are supposed to be quite lenient in their approach towards women.They dont grill so much. At least thats what I’ve heard. I’m hoping I’ll have it easy too πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Cool. Yes, normally, they go a little easy on women.
      D: I hope thats the case,Masood! *fingers crossed* πŸ™‚

      All the best, again! πŸ™‚

      D:Thanks

      Like

  7. wah ! Nice, leisurely weekend:)

    I really miss not being able to drive, I once learnt in India, but could never drive:(

    D: You sound so much like my Ma.She did learn driving too and has a valid license.But not once has she driven on roads. Her funda is when 3 chauffeurs are available,in the form of husband,daughter&son,why take pains!! πŸ˜€

    Like

  8. Whatte weekend! Mine was verrrry simple :eat, sleep, watch TV, fight with Jay, eat , sleep. Nice no?

    D: Nice????Anything connected with sleep is bliss,SJ πŸ˜€

    Like

  9. we had a 3 days weekend this time …. but it flew faster than the usual 2 days..

    D: I can understand.Holidays literally fly past! πŸ™‚
    Our daugher has just started to turn pages of magazines … reading your post I can imagine what is coming.
    Great to read through the post … never been out of the Doha airport but the places you visited are so familiar … Diaso, Jarir Bookshop (hope they look the same)

    D: Diaso is much bigger than what Muscat has.Jarir Bookstore too has a variety of collections here.

    Like

  10. I wish I could get into Namnam’s shoes rather than running around gathering dirty crocs of the two boys in my house..Hey will you then buy me drawing sheets too with a dozen fruity smelling colour pencils?? I too can sweetly say Dinaso and add a Dino dance to it??

    D: πŸ˜† πŸ˜† …the Dino dance please…a snap will do πŸ˜€

    Sunday we went to the beach to see the famous sand sculpture festival and found the whole of Massachusetts there… It was good to walk along the beach holding hands and watching my son play…the only hitch was I felt like I was terribly overdressed for the occasion πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    D: Ok,now I really need to see the snaps!that sure sounded you had a blast!

    Like

  11. wonderful!! πŸ™‚ I love your lil girl :):) Not that I know anything about kid stuff these days, but I`m wondering if its the same Barney from the Enid Blyton series?? remember? Riger/Diana/Snubby/Barney and his pet monkey Miranda??? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    D: Its not that Barney,Mishy.The one I’m talking about is a character from a TV series for kids.He is a dinosaur who conveys learning through songs,stories and dance.And his messages are not only educational but moralistic too.Namnam has benefited a lot from those series. πŸ™‚

    My weekend was spent…no prizes for guessing this one…yes,yes, cooking!!(What else?!!!) Grrrrrrr…!!
    Did spend an hour at a book store though an hour wasnt enough really! hmmpphh

    Like

  12. I meant Roger. And Snubby had a dog called Loony. Remember that series?

    D: Mish,I was not at all into Enid Blyton’s Barney series. For me,Enid Blyton meant Malory Towers and St.clare’s! You’ve no idea how much I used to fantasize about being Darrell’s best friend(Ah!how I used to envy Sally!). The whole boarding concept was heaven to me back the πŸ˜€ ! I’m sure you’d understand what I mean,dont you?

    Like

  13. Wow u had a pretty interesting weekend..great. Namnam seems to be very choosy of the clothes she wears…lol, that was really cute. U see its all generation gap n thesedays kids are very smart…lol!!!

    n ya howz her left ear now…
    D:Now its more or less healed,thanks. She is back to being her impish self πŸ˜€
    Btw what does her name “Namnam” mean??

    D: Namnam is a pet name for my daughter,Nazish.Her real name is Namya which means ‘to bow’.

    tc

    Like

  14. Hi Deepti,
    You sure had a great weekend, especially Namnam since she could colour and scribble to heart’s content. my little one is also turning naughty by the day. We also had a great weekend,, a small cosy party at a close friends place… some dance, some drinks and eating and lots of fun…and the children enjoyed by the side.

    D: Wow!that sounds fun! πŸ™‚

    take care
    rekha

    D: You too,Rekha πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. And sorry again to all my fellow bloggers for not dropping by to read their posts.I know I’ve missed quite a bit of treasure. I promise to make up on all that I’ve lost soon. Please dont disown me!!

    Like

  16. wow !! u had so much fun.. i used to paint on tiles long ago .. and it used to be such fun !! .. my weekend hectic as usual .. family visits-laundry-dinner-movie and more family visits πŸ™‚

    D: So your weekend was full up,huh?? πŸ˜†

    Like

  17. take your sweet time…it always makes me happy when CIA torture agents like you don’t come over and threaten me to write a post…heee

    D: Ha ha I’m glad you feel threatened.Wait till I hop over to give remaining of my blog-mouthful to you.Taiyar hoja,Gabbar singh,mai aarahi hoon πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Is Namnam fine or she is taking up ur time coz I checked on Federer and he is out on vacation…

    D: πŸ˜† πŸ˜† Now you’re what,a detective agent??? Namnam is fine and back to her mischiefs and keeping me on my toes!

    Like

  18. perfect weekend..relax , njoi and funtime with Namnam..tell me, wat does namnam mean? very unique cute name…

    D:Namnam is my daughter’s pet name.Her real name is Namya which means ‘to bow’ πŸ™‚
    hope every weekend that goes by gets more exciting than the previous one.

    D: Awwww..that was such a lovely wish,Rush.Thank you so much πŸ™‚
    (((HUGS)))

    Like

  19. sounds like namnam had a ‘wonderful’ time…and do write about ur driving lessons…give us an insight into that world!
    D: Let me have the license in hand,Sindhu..then I’ll have a whole novel to write about my driving school and its ‘baksheesh’ policies πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

