I’m not superstitious…touchwood!

A couple of days back I was getting my kitchen cleaned.While having one of the shelves rearranged in the process,I asked my cleaner,N,to keep the salt-jar in its usual top-shelf.When I went to the kitchen to check on the progress,I noticed that the salt-jar was kept at the counter top instead.Now,I was miffed that N had disregarded my instruction,so asked him why he had not kept it in the shelf.He said,”salt should always be kept at a low-lying surface.Else its considered bad omen”.

I know he meant well,but I was annoyed even more so,that he was trying to force his beliefs on me.So I bluntly told him that R & I didn’t follow such superstitions in our house,hence the jar be kept in the top shelf only.

Even though N has never tried to voice his superstitious beliefs ever since,the one wisdom that he imparted has had the intended impact.I have found myself having second thoughts every time I’ve had to keep the salt-jar back in the shelf after using it.I would have the disturbing ‘what if’ or ‘should I,should I not’ thoughts,brush them aside and move on.

Till the day before the incident,I didnt even know about such a superstition.I could easily take my salt jar from the top shelf,use it,keep it back at its designated place,without even thinking twice and live my life happily.But now,the awareness that a ridiculous superstition is attached to it has dictated my whole thought-process!

I have come across many superstitions in my life.I have listed a few in one of my earlier posts even.And I have learnt to understand the futility of them in my life over a period of time.Or so I thought.

This one incident has made me think,howsoever much you try to detach yourself from superstitious beliefs,you’ll still be pulled back in its vicious web.

40 thoughts on “I’m not superstitious…touchwood!

    1. Hee masood it’s simple… we ignore when someone else beats us and sometimes even sulks and go underground and exercise and prepare to beat the hell out and come first next time *sakshi looking at all the first comment coming exercise equipments in her underground lab and haath malofying*

      Like

  1. Oh U r so rt girl! Once we get to listen to such things, we r dictated by thoughts which we never thought would cross our mind! Don’t worry much and if u feel it is disturbing u, do keep it at a different place. Nothing to lose na πŸ™‚

    D: Know what,Swaru..I’m disturbed more when people try to force their beliefs on me.

    Like

  2. I aint too superstitious either… but certain things remain in our subconscious mind… sigh

    D:Precisely.We follow certain beliefs simply because those are what we have grown up watching.We dont feel the need to understand the reasoning or lack of it behind them πŸ™‚

    Like

        1. bad day yesterday…all news flying around…

          today much better… !!

          there are certain things we do sub consciously .. like the right leg first… generally.. !!

          I always ensure I do things 4 times.. if its even its perfect.. not odd.. !!

          silly things these but I do follow…

          D: Some of the beliefs are so much a part of our day-to-day life that we refuse to part with them.I was told while growing up that if I want to give something to my elders,even if it is offering a cup of tea,I should use my right hand as a mark of respect.I still practice that.

          Like

  3. You are so right. Happens to me as well. Until you don’t know of a particular superstition, life is all honky dory. But as soon as someone tells you that doing so n so thing is bad and will bring ill luck, you always get second thoughts before doing it. Even if you don’t believe in it. The ‘what-if’ scenario takes over the mind and its just easy to think why take a chance and we succumb to some ridiculous superstitions.

    But I also know of many people who, despite of all superstitions, are so strong to ignore them and are still so cool. I wish I was like that. Though I don’t really believe in them, I’m better of not messing with them as well.

    D: I do try to ignore most of them,Masood.But incidents like the one I mentioned above makes me lose my focus a bit.Yet I’m careful that Namnam doesnt get affected by such ridiculous beliefs.I just choose to not thrust them upon her πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. This happens with most people, Deepu. I had this habit of pouring black phynol on lizards and kill them, as soon as I saw them! I hate them roaming on my kitchen counter. My servant said that it is not good for the family, we have to just shoo them off and not kill them! Now, I am still doing it, but her voice is at the back of my mind!

    I am going to Tirupati every year because my sis-in-law said that it is our family deity, we have to do it. I like other temples which are not crowded, but here, in this temple, every step is tiresome. And, we have just a fraction of a second’s darshan…I never return with a happy feeling from this temple!

    D: Sandhya,I can so understand what you’re saying.Even I prefer going to temples when they are not crowded.A temple symbolizes pious,calmness and peace.But sadly,when devotees barge in and create havoc as though they are in a race against time,it loses its whole meaning.The temples at times get out of hands during festivals!

    Like

  5. LOL@ the title!

    D: ha ha ha!I somehow had a feeling you’d catch it πŸ˜€

    Yes, I can imagine that worrying you .. I guess once we hear it – it is difficult to shake off. Now, thankfully, I am able to ignore most of these superstitions.. But you never know, when that will change actually – one small coincidence and one might just start believing in the superstition..

    D:I’ve learnt to ignore them too,Smits.But incidents like the one mentioned in the post shakes me up at times.But I really dont want Namnam to get affected by all this,hence I keep them away from her πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I have double standards when it comes to superstitions :mrgreen: I brush aside 99% of them without even giving a thought but if it comes to my loved ones I think I go bonkers 😳 like you know when our kids were very little if they fall sick, some old neighbour will say “are isko nazar lag gayi”. Even though I don’t indulge in rituals these are the times I almost sulk at superstitions and tend to think about it 😦

    D: I understand what you’re saying.When it comes to your loved ones you really can go to any lengths.I remember when I had just delivered Namnam,for the first 3months,Amma used to do the ‘nazar utaro’ on her with whole red-chillies &mustard seeds!I used to allow it too because I would get so finicky after all the visits from the well-wishers who would go on and on saying,’arre bachi badi pyaari hai,iske do kaan hain,do aankhein hain,itna hasti hai,nazar zaroor utaarna..grrrrr!”!! Thankfully I’ve mellowed down a bit! πŸ˜€

    So where is your salt jar now located? Hope you have not given it for safe keeping to ur neighbours on the ground floor?? 😈

    D: Oh its right here in my house,Saksh.I thought of giving it to them but when I saw them keeping it in their top shelf,I snatched it and ran up before any bad omen befell me πŸ‘Ώ

    Like

  7. You know what? If you have observed, let somebody tell you that doing something is GOOD, you will take it less seriously. On the other hand, when someone tells you doing something does bad to you, you try to be extremely careful about it – involuntarily! Human nature! πŸ˜€

    D: Thats such a pertinent point you’ve made,Suji! That is human nature,indeed!

    Like

  8. There are some things you start believing because of fear and then some because something actually happens that proves the superstition right. Then there are some which comes out of habit.

    I always say ‘touchwood* after praising kids esp. someone’s. It is a habit now that it tough to change. I just say it so that they shouldn’t think ‘nazar lag gayi’. Many believe in that. Kaala teeka and all. I have seen baby blogs with ‘kaala teeka’.

    I have a cactus in my house for so many years now. I read that keeping it inside the house is not good. Still it stays on my kitchen window sill. If bad has to happen it will.

    I used to believe in another thing and I still do is ‘not to touch books with toes and feet’. I believe saraswati resides in all books and it should be respected. Peanut picked it up watching me. πŸ˜€

    D: Oh yes,Sols,I practice that too.And Namnam has picked it up.Whenever a book slips out of her hand or she mistakenly touches books with her feet,she immediately touches them with her hand and then touches her forhead.

    Another thing is if I accidentally touches someone with toes or feet, I touch that person with my hand and then touch forehead. Imagine..when I did that to my American boss. Ha..ha.. he had no clue what I was doing. I explained him why I was doing it and he loved the concept. πŸ˜€

    D: I’ve observed that foreigners seem quite amazed and amused at our customs and beliefs. :). I’ve seen some of them greeting with a ‘namaste’ even πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Im glad Mr. N could made you atleast think !! now, thats something which doesnt happen every time, right? πŸ˜‰

    D: Do you really blame me for losing out on my thinking power,Vimmuuu??of late I’ve been hanging out with nutcases like you 😈

    Like

    1. Im glad it is nutcases; so that includes people like silly-lo, hitchy, crafty and of course pixie too, na? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      D: Taangal valiya oru paarayanu,Vimmu saarey! πŸ˜€

      Like

  10. I’m 20% Superstitious !

    I know what colour “not to wear”… “when not to *blah-blah*”
    and similar sort of stuff but actually being a little bit superstitious is of no harm…

    It’s so natural!

    “Salt-wala” superstition could be because in kitchen you salt in almost every thing you cook, so better keep it a place where is accessibility is not an issue!

    πŸ˜‰

    D: Welcome here,Ashish πŸ™‚
    What you said about makes sense.If there is a logical reasoning behind any belief I think then it is worth practicing.

    Like

  11. I too am not at superstitious-I just cross my fingers for luck when I want something badly; and take taboos connected with children and family a bit seriously……

    D: I used to cross my fingers too,especially while watching tennis matches of my favorite players.When I look back all I feel like doing is laugh at myself πŸ˜€ !

    Oh and I wish I knew some voodoo to practice on my manager–otherwise I try an keep an open mind!

    D: ha ha ha..I wish I were of help to you πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Never heard of keeping the salt jar on low lying surfaces,i always keep it in the cupboard above the stove,now i will have this in my mind.

    Inspite of not believing these things we end up doing it.We should never give salt jars to the hand,i dont know why and i dont want to believe it but end up believing it and not giving the salt jar to hand.

    D: Really??I didnt know that.Gosh!Salt-jar nai hua bomb ka gola ho gaya πŸ˜†

    Some supersitious i believe like when money slips from my hand and falls on the ground,i pick it up and keep the money near to my eyes as if i a praying,my kids also started doing it with money and paper.

    Some have become a habit as well,like when i start to take my food the first bit, i do is close my eyes as if i am offering the first bit to god.the other day i saw varunavi also doing it.

    D: Thats a nice thought,Sari.My father & FIL do that πŸ™‚

    But when it comes to kids i believe in removing nazar etc……

    Like

  13. I think its all with how your mind can handle these. If u have been able to convince your mind that nothing will happen then believe me nothing will happen. Superstition is nothing but surrendering yourself to something that doesn’t even exists!!

    D: thats such a positive way of looking at it,Nazish πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. *crafty comes running in and looks left and right for Deeps, finally spots her*

    There u are!!!!

    (((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))))))

    just came to give those!!! will be back later Deeps, am drowning in work! wail!

    πŸ˜₯

    muahs!!!!!

    D: Awww…I’m so glad you hopped by,sweetie.Sort your work and be back to have some real masti.Will be waiting till then πŸ™‚
    hugs and muahs πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. I am not superstitious, but think that they were just a way to impart some safe behavior. I never can find reasoning behind most of them though πŸ˜‰

    Some I like are “It is bad if someone steps on your cut nails” – I think this helps foster cleaning up after nail cutting πŸ˜‰

    And I was reading our malayalam magazine “Vanitha” yesterday and there was an article by poet Vinayachandran about his mom and it referred to an incident where his mom used to tell him “not to kick a pile of leaves especially when it is dark” and out of curiosity one night he did and a snake popped out!

    Some of it does serve a purpose, only if I could understand πŸ˜‰

    D: Rightly said,Lakshmi.If a belief serves a purpose,there’s no harm in practicing it is ther?

    Like

  16. So did the salt finally go down? πŸ˜€

    D: No,re,its still up in the top shelf πŸ˜€

    I know what you’re saying. I heard one such superstition of always putting the car in front gear before reversing it when I start it first time every morning. Though it sounds so flimsy, it doesn’t harm me to do it and sub-conciously, I do it πŸ™‚

    D: Goodness,I’m discovering so many new superstitions here πŸ™‚

    Like

  17. even i am not superstitious ..but if i hear some superstition and sometimes things dn’t work out I also go into thiking mode did it happen because of that reason..
    When I was small I never used to cut nails on Monday and tuesday because of so and so reason..but that also I have stopped now

    My husband has a long list of superstitions –like not washing hair on Thursday..nt cutting har on certain days etc,,,and I sometimes wonder how he even manages to remember them

    D: ha ha ha.I know of a person who doesnt visit anyone’s house right after he has had a haircut πŸ˜€

    Like

  18. It annoys me too. I like to think that I don’t subscribe to superstitions, but when someone tells me about them, even though I all like “whatever” , a little voice inside always whispers “what if?” 😦

    D: I know…I get annoyed at myself too at times when I realize how bothered I get by all the ridiculous beliefs.
    BTW,welcome here,Dreamer πŸ™‚

    Like

  19. in some way most of us are superstitious ….so long we keep these at a bare minimum level it is ok..otherwise it will make our life miserable….i am also superstitious on certain things..oh we also keep salt on the top shelf…but i am not going to change it….

    D: Yay,Sunder..keep it that way..I havent changed it either.The salt jar still remains at the top shelf πŸ˜€

    Like

  20. Ignorance, certainly, is bliss, Deepti! I do the same.. I am not superstitious at all, but I do believe in queer little things, that are not logical at all!! Wot to do?

    Btw, loved the title. Very smart πŸ™‚

    D: Ha ha ha πŸ˜€

    Like

  21. That is the problem Deeps. When someone tells us something, we start thinking of it even though we know in our hearts that it is nothing but superstition. It is from this influence itself that we have to make ourselves free. Good to see that the salt jar is still where you want it to be and not where superstition dictates it should be! πŸ™‚

    D: I have the salt jar still in top shelf,shail,but the new-found knowledge still creeps in when I see it there and its so annoying!

    Like

  22. Loved the title Deeps :-D!!!!!!

    I once read in some idiotic stardust or filmfare tht whenever Rishi Kapoor saw a Black cat he stood where he was & turned around 3 times b4 continuing on his way. Just imagine what an effect it must have had on a 12yr old’s mind :-/.
    Even today when I see a black cat I furtively look around if I can get away with the 3 times turning if people are not looking……:-S

    Dont laugh dammit, I’m such a loony I tell u 😦

    D: LOL,Nance!I have heard of the superstition about a black cat crossing your path…but a mere sight of it causing paranoia??thats news to me πŸ˜€

    Like

  23. I am not superstitious at all, because i fear superstitions – except some fun ones while watching cricket matches πŸ™‚ If we order this or sit there or keep the window open – India wins πŸ˜†

    But I wrote a post once about how I had read in a Newspaper that cactus inside the house is extremely unlucky and I had thought it was such nonsense, and to publish such stuff, and I had a friend who had an amazing collection of cactii in her house, in fact she gifted me some but mine didn’t last… and then the realisation – read about it here Deeps, and although I still take it with a pinch of salt (from top shelf) this is one superstition I am not able to shake off.

    http://indianhomemaker.wordpress.com/2008/03/12/can-cactus-inside-the-house-cause-death/

    D: I read the post,IHM and trust me I’m shaken up myself.Theres every chance that I might not grow a cactus inside my house now πŸ˜€
    Thank you for the link πŸ™‚

    Like

  24. I guess the salt could fall from the top shelf and make your food .. might be thats been the reason behind the starting of this superstition! who knows?
    this is the first time I heard about this! Fortunately for me, I do not pick up new ones .. I am quite complacent with the ones that I already know!!! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

