The week goneby…

was nothing much to write home about.

First, there was the Madrid open which Federer lost to Nadal taking the latter’s all-time tally of wins against the world no 1 to 14. Fedex has a meager 7 to his credit :(.

Then I saw Swaram flashing her state of mind on Facebook with an ecstatic “Nadal won Nadal won … yay yay yay!” making me sulk even more.

And Sakshi even went a step further by asking me to imagine her having dinner with Federer!

If you have friends like such, you don’t need enemies do you?? 😈

Anyway, as Masood, a fellow manic member of the Federer Fan Club put up on my Facebook page, ‘Come Grand-slams (French Open this month and Wimbledon in June), we’ll have plenty to cheer about’. So here’s looking forward to the coming months with my fingers crossed!!

—–

Next my internet connection came crashing down crippling me for two days. The two days felt like two decades for me! Ok ok that’s a bit too filmy! I get it πŸ˜€ . What I mean to say is that those two days did reiterate my belief that internet had become an integral part of my life. It’s hard to imagine a day, a life without its gracious presence!

—–

Then I came across a very tragic and disturbing bit of news. A 4-year-old kindergartener died due to intense heat and asphyxiation after being trapped in her school-bus for more than 4 hours. It was an incident that shook up the entire Indian community here. The parents of school-going children were enraged at the school authorities, the management, the transport company to whom the bus belonged. Everybody was being blamed. And rightfully so.

The bus driver, who has been arrested, should not be the only person to be blamed for failing to check on the bus thoroughly before leaving the school, thereby leaving the poor little girl locked inside the bus. The school has to be held equally responsible for not ensuring the same.

If the schools are charging a certain amount from the parents as ‘bus-fee’, it should not just include a mere pick-up/drop-off of the pupils but should also include the responsibility of ensuring their safe transportation.

Many schools here, reportedly, do not adhere to the guidelines set by the Supreme Education Council. A set of parents have decided to form a committee and hold a meeting with the council to report such schools to them.

I hope these efforts yield some positive results and such tragic incidents never happen.

When I saw the photo of little Sarah, I couldn’t stop crying, because, in her I could see my Namnam.

Next year Namnam will start going to a proper school and I already feel the pangs of anxiety thinking about her safety and well-being.

—–

Finally I bade goodbye to a very dear friend who left Qatar for good to re-base in India. She was my closest friend here and our daughters were the best of friends( I hope they remain so though) .

We gave birth to our daughters around the same time. In fact I remember, when we were in India(she in Kerala, me in Delhi) for our respective deliveries, we would call each other up now and then to talk about our heartburn, nausea, cravings, aversions, baby-kicks, so on and so forth.
When we moved to Doha, it was amazing to see how quickly the girls connected with each other.

I know we will stay in touch, but it will not be the same as living in the same building, knowing there’s a friend living right next door who you can run to for a heart-to-heart talk. Parting is so very hard! I will miss you, J and Namnam will miss O even more :).

—–
This is how my past week has been. I hope the coming week will pass by more favorably and will give lot many moments to cheer about.

So, how have you been?

17 thoughts on “The week goneby…

  1. OMG, Deeps, that is such awful news about the poor child. Every parent would empathise with that and feel the horror !! God bless the family!!

    D: Oh Pals, if the news of the unfortunate child could shake me up, I cant even imagine what her mother must be going through.

    Like

  2. God! Thatz just so bad Deeps. Nt yet a Mother, but still I can’t imagine the pain they must be gng thru 😦 😦
    I just hope it does nt happen with anybody else … God bless!

    And the move … oh its so difficult no; happened with me too when my friend moved to Delhi. Hugs to u Deeps. Is it the same girl … the Onam photos? I luved those pics with the two cutie-pies πŸ˜€

    D: Yes, Swar…O is the same girl. The good thing is they have moved to Delhi, so the girls can meet up whenever we are there.

    Oyee! I just expressed my happiness .. when did I mean to sulk u πŸ˜› Kya kya bolti hai friend ke baare mein πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Nadal is waiting ppl …. bring Federer on!!!!!!!

    D: Yeah sure!!

    Like

  3. That news is really tragic and no responsibility of school? After reading your post I just couldn’t stop thinking about the parents of that little girl 😦

    hey being without internet connection feels so isolating!I was wondering where you are!!

    Living away from home country becomes especially difficult when a close friend parts, I can so relate to that feeling.

    Good to see you back online!

    Like

    1. Not to brag or anything but here (US) there is a simple rule that if the child is absent from school, the parents either call the school to inform that she won’t be attending today and if the school has no such info from parents then they call home to find out where the child is…. In this case it would have saved a life!

      D: I totally agree,sands. In this case, the girl apparently had been on sick leave. If the parents had called up the school to inform she was rejoining or if the school had enquired upon her, she would have been alive today. I hope schools adopt such a policy here as well.

      Like

  4. Hmm I can completely understand the pangs of parting from friends.. hope you are doing better. And may God give strength to the parents of the kid, to bear through this. It is very heart wrenching to hear such deaths of innocent kids 😦

    Well.. me have been keeping a bit better. Have started posting again πŸ˜€
    Hope to see you around πŸ™‚

    D: Good to have you back, Amrita πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Here comes another Nadal fan …. :devil: Nadal gonna rock this French open and he may also good for Wimbledon… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    D: We’ll see 😈

    the kids plight is so bad… I think the responsibility is with parents… they must ensure their kid goes safely, as you know many school administrations are just have a business mind 😑

    D: Kanagu, it should be two-ways,kanagu. Yes, the parents have to ensure their kids are safe and thats why they choose a particular school. And the school has the equal responsibility of ensuring that the faith of the parents is not broken.

    Oh.. parting is so bd na…. 😦 😦 but that again a part of life… SIGH… Wish you both will stay in touch deeps πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Its really shocking how can the bus driver and the attender leave the kid in the school bus.Maybe the kid slept off in the bus but its the duty of the driver and the attender to check.Poor little girl how much she suffered.We are so dependent on these people and they do this to the kids

    I always tell varu not to sleep in the bus and not to go to loo before leaving the school,u tell to namnam also that she should not go to loo before coming home,i always have a fear of kid missing the bus and locked up in the school.(i heard of a story when i was a school)

    D: I know, Sari..it can be so scary!

    I can imagine the parting as i myself going from here,i feel like crying.

    Like

  7. Deeps, don’t know why, I am here after many days! 😦
    I have just completed my graduation and was irregular from blogging many days….

    D: Good to have you back, Mahmud πŸ™‚

    I heard the news of little Sarah from the newspaper… I just could think how helpless she was before saying us goodbye…

    Nice to know that Namnam will go to school soon πŸ™‚
    and, wish you will be connected to your friend in the days to come.. But you mentioned really nicely, the next door friend is not comparable with the phone communication…

    But.. the harsh word we are bound to say is — “Good Bye”!!

    Like

  8. OMG! My prayers are with the little girl’s family. How tragic! 😦

    Is it ok if I say I like Nadal and Federer both and I did Enjoy watching Nadal win?! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Saying bye to a friend, that too such a close friend is always so difficult.. hugs Deeps!

    D: Hugs to you too, Pix..I hope you get back in touch with your friend R soon πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. 4 hrs in isolated van…can’t imagine what that poor girl will be facing in those last hours and how her parents will cope up with the loss..
    I really do not understand how schools/drivers/others involved can be so careless to let that happen..how do they sleep in peace after such a incident which could have easily avoided.

    Like

  10. Sigh growing up kids are not an easy affair are they… Sigh… thats really sad… !!!

    bout Fedex !! well Nadal is his bogeyman… !!! he simply mentally falls apart against Nadal !!!!

    Like

  11. I felt so sad after reading the news. Hope the parents find peace.

    It would be more tough on Namnu no? as she will miss her O so very much. And to add now she will be clinging on more to you for entertainment 😈

    Glad to have you back….now why don’t you hum too?

    Like

  12. Thats really sad to know about that child. Well no matter how much precaution u take some incidents do happen….but i really feel the driver should hav rechecked it .

    Mine was a terrible week…was not well, infact not fully recovered now too!! Hav had a terrible throat infection πŸ˜›

    Like

  13. There were a few similar incidents out here as well over the years. Now they’ve introduced tough laws to counter such negligence by drivers, bus conductors and school authorities. Haven’t heard any such incidents for a while now.

    About Federer, enough said. Now its time to cheer πŸ™‚

    Cheers!

    Like

  14. someone lost to someone else; not bothered ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Guess what, I was away from my mobile and internet for the last one week and I must admit, it has been suicidal !!! I was feeling suffocated throughout the trip ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ What has become to us ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    and thats a very sad news. Nothing can replace their loss !

    btw, why dont you shift your base to India as well ? and spare the people of Qatar for a while ! πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

