From one house to another

Dear New House,

I know you are all set to welcome your new family. And very excited too. But I cant even begin to tell you how sad it makes me to see them leave( and a bit jealous too). With so many constructions happening around and the building in which I am set heading for one too, I knew this day was to come. After all I cant expect them to endure the blaring construction sounds like I do! I can still withstand the nuisance as I’m made of cement and bricks! They are mere humans.

However, today when I see them pack and get ready to move out, I find it very hard to accept that they will no longer be staying with me. They will no longer be MY family. Although that doesnt make me love them any less. And I know they will not stop loving me too.

I was a mere house when they came to reside here. With their love and care they turned me into a home. They infused life and soul into me with their memories and beautiful moments. The most prominent being the one where R&D first discovered they were going to become parents. I remember how excited, overwhelmed and thrilled they were. I was as elated as them. I was so happy for them!

I’m witness to the moment when R came back from office and shared the news of his promotion to D and N. I’m witness to the moment when D first got her license and she was jumping around telling the world about it. I’m witness to the day when Namnam started going to school. I remember how lonely D felt that day with Namnam finally stepped out of her cocoon. I remember feeling as lonely!

I know I have not always given them cheerful moments. Like when I decided to grow some pests like cockroaches, ants and flies, I remember how angry they were at me. The teeth-gritting, the fist-punching are still fresh in my memory. It was only when I let them get rid of those pests that peace was restored!

I shudder to think what would have been the scenario if I had decided to grow rats!! ๐Ÿ™„

Every time the building lift acted up and they had to climb 5 floors up to come to me, I could feel the curses amidst all the heavy-panting of breaths directed straight towards me. Or when the shower-rod broke or the water-pipe leaked or the kitchen shelf-handle popped out, the furious glares were hard to miss.

But at the end of the day what made the difference was that I was still a part of their life. I was still looked after and much cared for. And I know how much I mean to them for all the wonderful time they had while they lived with me. Even when they are packing and getting ready to go now I know they will miss me just as bad as I will.

Today when they are on the way to come to you, I wish they like you instantly and are able make as many beautiful memories as they did with me. BTW, if R tells you that he and Namnam are the saner and more adorable of the three of them, dont believe him. With time you’ll realize soon enough that D is as sane and as adorable, if not more!! ( Oh, no I’m not being prompted by D or anyone to say this, believe me, this is my own observation ๐Ÿ˜› )

Oh and yes, let me warn: DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT GIVING THEM A HARD TIME. I’m right across the street, so I’ll be watching you.

With all the best wishes

Old House

*******************

27 thoughts on “From one house to another

  1. Congratulations on the new house! ๐Ÿ™‚
    May you have many more new milestones, precious memories at your new place too!
    Loved the letter! Way too cute! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Awww! Such a sweet, sweet house ๐Ÿ™‚

    Deeps, You have been in this house for so long! It must be such a mixed feeling to leave it. Hugs! May your new house be just as wonderful, and may you make loads of happy memories there! Hugs to little Namnam, for being the angel she is!

    Btw, someone here wants to learn to skate now ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. aww this post was so senti Deeps !!!

    I can relate to this feeling..it’s tough I know ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    But never thought from the house’s perspective..lovely little post !!!

    lol @ the observation of who is saner ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Good luck for the new house ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Dear All,
    Thank you so much for your wishes :). Since internet connection is yet to be set up in my new house, I’ll be offline for a while. Will get back to replying to you, reading blogs and commenting as soon as we’ve a cnnxn. Believe me, I’m leaving no stone unturned to have it set up at the earliest ๐Ÿ˜€

    So bye till then. Hope to see you all soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    Keep Blogging ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope u get as much love and affection from ur new home ๐Ÿ™‚ and also more such joyous moments to relish life-long ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hugs!

      Like

  5. new house wowowowow.. congrats .. so whens the house warming party … u make sure u invite me .. if u have already had then have a nother one and invite me again…

    I dont think i will change my house soon enough shifting is a big problem i cnat do it again …

    ๐Ÿ™‚
    congrats once again

    Bikram’s

    Like

  6. Deeps, it was really a wonderful letter. And such a cute House ๐Ÿ˜›

    Sounds you are moving to the other side of the street, so hope it will not be problematic. have nice times ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoyed the letter of the House ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Congratulations Deeps on your new home ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    What a beautiful letter written straight from the heart.
    May this new year and new home bless you all with precious memories and wonderful,love filled times ahead ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

Leave a Reply

