Koi Lautade Mere Beete Hue Din…

…at least the 10 days that have gone by, rather swished by!

How wonderful it would be if you could go back in time and relive the beautiful days you spent with your family, all over again!

– The days spent lazing around carefree, with either a book in your hand or simply watching your daughter run around with absolutely no worry to run after her because you knew there already were three people who were more preferred to do the honour!

– The days spent watching your daughter climb up the shelves of her grandparents’ wardrobes, like a monkey and flick li’l things from there and sneak them into your bag. And then hearing her tell them how badly those things were needed in ‘her house’ instead making you reminisce about the time when you used to do the same πŸ™‚

– The days spent stuffing yourself with the umpteenth serving of gajar-halwa made ‘lip-smacking-iciously’ by your ma and still craving for more.

– The days spent waiting for the tikki/golgappe-wala to come to your block and then rushing out to book your place with other residents, when he did come tom-tomming on his large frying pan with a spatula. And then devouring and relishing every bite and sipping the spicy jaljeera thereafter….oooooohhhhh!

– The days spent hopping from one shop to another splurging away and realizing in the process that no joy matched up to the joy of shopping with your mother :).

– The days spent rediscovering your city through lanes and by-lanes in a cycle-rickshaw with your daughter perching herself amazingly well right at the backseat and your heart skipping a beat every time the rickshaw-puller maneuvered through a jam-packed traffic and finally letting out a relieving sigh when he got you to your destination successfully.

– The days spent rushing up to the terrace as soon as the sun came out, with a pack of moongfalis and a book and your daughter following right after with her homework-sheet.

– The days spent grinding your teeth in the biting cold and yet loving every bit of the chill and breathing in every bit of Dilli ki sardi! Brrrrrrrr!!

How I wish I could have those days back! But as it turns out, its back to the grrrrind!

Anyway, how have you all been? Hope you all had a rocking start to the year.

48 thoughts on “Koi Lautade Mere Beete Hue Din…

  1. Beautifully expressed deeps.More than u it will be namanam who will miss delhi and her granny the most.

    Good golpa walla comes to ur house,nice….

    Happy new year…

    Like

  2. wow even though I didn’t spend these days after reading this I want to say it with you- ‘Koi Lauta De…’ woh 10 din πŸ˜‰

    What a start to the year MMXI πŸ˜€ Wishing you happiness and wellness in this decade πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Awesome! πŸ™‚
    Glad to know you guys had a great time πŸ™‚
    Wishing you and your family loads of happiness, love and prosperity in the coming decade πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Happy new year πŸ˜€ I just noticed: I adore your blog header. Reminds me of Nainital and hence my childhood; we used to go vacationing to this hill and that. Along with this post, you have what I call the perfect home sick recipe. Kudos!

    Like

    1. Thank you Deboshree :). You grew up in Nainital? Wow! I had been there many many years back. Have the fondest memories of my childhood holiday attached to that place πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Lovely post!! Brought back some memories for me too, of my parents house! πŸ™‚
    Wish I could go back and relive those days! 😦
    Aside, happy new year!! Hope you had a wonderful new year’s eve.

    Like

    1. Awww, hugs, sweetie! You know what, now I think it was good in a way that I didnt get through to your number that day. Oh I would tempted you like anything with my golgappa,tikki,chaat story and you’d have missed Delhi even more πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. Dilli ki sardi and you enjoyed it!!

    I can understand how your daughter was hoarding things in your bag. My niece’s daughter was doing the same here, last week. She needed each and everything from my house, her mother didn’t have a thing at home!

    D: “her mother didn’t have a thing at home!” Ha ha ha,I used to give the same impression to my grandmother, Sandhya, when I hoarded things and brought them home πŸ™‚

    It is nice to pamper daughters and grand children, Deepu. Your mother must be missing you now.

    D: Oh She is, Sandhya and so is my father and my father-in-law. These 10days flew by in a flicker!

    Like

  7. very nice to read such beautiful posts Deeps πŸ™‚
    great to hear that you and Namnam enjoyed a lot in Delhi πŸ™‚
    Wishing you a wonderful 2011 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I love to be in that Delhi cold.. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    D: You must plan to visit Delhi during winter, Kanagu, if I’m there around that time, I can even guide you about what to do where to go, etc. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. im too late here, I know !

    How I wish we all had a time machine, na? pakshe, pinne adiney samayam kanooo ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    D: Yeah you have a point there! Pakshe enda cheyya, sometimes the heart desires for things that defy all logical reasoning πŸ˜€

    Like

  9. Holidays are just so fun..and in mom’s house its the best ..just lay back and relax
    Dilli ki sardi ..to nahi but I am also from north ..so I could just so relate to your post …miss those days when we used to have mufali-gajak in rajai πŸ™‚

    Happy new year to you ..

    D: Thank you Vandana πŸ™‚ I’m glad you could relate to this post.

    Like

  10. Aww.. I can so relate to this post. I wish I had a ‘pause’ button which I could use to bring life to a stand still.. just so that I get more time to soak it up.. πŸ™‚

    D: I’m sure you’re having a blast of a time in India, Pepper. Live every moment to the hilt! Have fun πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Well I made it to yur blog thru Bikram…. I would love cherish those moments , well as for the daughter part I’d have to wait though…but halwas been there done that :)! nice! cyu around

    D: Welcome here Hary!

    Like

  12. Its so wonderful to be at mom’s place na….memories so precious that you always treasure them. Probably for Namnam too, the days spent at granny’s house will be the best time of her life. πŸ™‚

    D: I want them to be one of the best times of her life, Ums, precisely why I just fly down with her to be with my parents at every given opportunity πŸ™‚

    U tempt me with those foodie points… πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Like

  13. πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯ It’s been ages since I have been to Delhi and I miss every single thing about it.

    D: Wait for a few more months and you’re going to be doing all that I did and much more πŸ˜€

    Lolz at Namnu hoarding stuffs πŸ˜†

    Like

  14. Wow, you surely had a rocking start to the year! :(( This post makes me even more sad, wanna go home. But the trip is faaaar away…

    D: Oye, didnt you just come back from BOM after a rocking time yourself?? πŸ˜›

    Like

  15. Aaaaah, holidays back home with the parents are awesome! πŸ˜€
    That’s a wonderful way to start the new year Deeps! Have a lot of archive digging I need to do now!

    D: Welcome here DI πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I know, re!! I’m feeling bad about it myself :(. Have been going through a lull for a while. Have written a post though after a long time, hopefully it should get me back in the groove πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

