A Day without the Kiddy Paraphernalia! (NaBloPoMo- Take- 6)

Today, a bunch of us ladies met up for breakfast and most of us had our kiddos tucked in school. Which meant that that we were sans our respective diaper-bags finally. No diapers, no cleaning-wipes, no panedol, no cookies or extra-bottle of water, no spare clothes, no rattles, no washable drawing pads to keep the little imps occupied . There were a couple of us though who had their infants in tow and their diaper-bags beside. While we did empathise with their condition but we also had a good hearty laugh at our ability to watch them from this side of the fence :D.And I cant tell you how relieved I was to know that I was well past that stage, finally!

There have been times when I have forgotten my hand-bag but I never ever skipped to take the diaper-bag whenever we went out. It was a part of me for good 3 years. Everytime we planned to go a vacation or trip home or a visit to a friend’s or a walk to a nearby shop or a dine out, this was always my tag-along. Believe me when Namnam was fully potty trained and I slowly got into a stage of weaning the diaper bag, it took me a while to be fully get used to the idea that I may soon be getting rid of it.

Today I had felt so much lighter that I could actually carry my bag with just my mobile and purse in it without any kiddy paraphernalia, wear a nice dress and feel good about myself and not scoot out in a tee and a pair of jeans instead with the prospect of having a ketchup splashed or juice spilled. And yes wear my heels and actually be able to walk around in style rather than run after my brat with flats and my dishevelled hair! And of course meet up with a bunch of girl-friends for a good chit-chat and actually talk about parenting, politics, racism, cooking, shopping and every other topic under the sun.

Sometimes mommies need such diversions once in a while to appreciate life a bit more, what do you think?

19 thoughts on “A Day without the Kiddy Paraphernalia! (NaBloPoMo- Take- 6)

  1. O WOW What a day! Lovely…
    I remember when we stopped carrying any such bags along. For a while it felt like we missed or forgot something. Life became so much quicker after that. If we want to go out, we can just leave on a dot 5 min notice. Earlier it used to be an hour long affiar atleast.

    D: Exactly, I used to feel as though I had forgotten something very important and then when it would strike me about how I may not actually be needing it anymore…wow, how relieved I would be πŸ™‚

    So happy to hear about ur day out …we all need such days once in a while.

    D: We do, dont we?

    Like

  2. Eeeyagghhh!!! I’m not turning a mother anytime soon!! I’m just not ready!! HALP!!! 😯

    D: Oh dont be, dearie..you and your Undakannan have lot many days to go till you start thinking about all this. make the most of your time together till then πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. aaah I know I know I know what u mean though from some time since Ojas has become toiler trained all I carry is a bottle of water and its such a relief for the first few times I actually couldnt believe it πŸ˜‰

    and thats the feeling we got on our Goa vacation it was like what I dont have to bother if he has eaten or not

    D: I know what a blast you had in Goa..was so envious of you! πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. Ha ha ha! U so need that me-time πŸ™‚ Glad u hd fun!

    To nammu *Awww kutty, Mumma left u and went and had fun πŸ˜‰ Dnt u worry! We will go 2mrw and leave Mumma behind ;)*

    Like

  5. Oh ho so you are leaving Namnu to work hard at school, while you do the cat walk in malls? πŸ˜₯ Btw I would not mind to see some pics of the heels you were talking about πŸ˜›

    Even after 6 years of going around everywhere with the boy, I still can’t believe that we can actually walk out of the house dragging the boy only in what he is wearing 😐

    I have saved his diaper bag and somehow every time I look at it my heart melts and longs for those nappy changing time when I could blow kisses loudly on his chubby stomach πŸ˜₯

    Like

  6. Deeps, You are right, it is such a relief to get rid of that heavy bag containg this, that and the other all for the kiddos. But it also leaves a pang of sadness that the kids are growing up too fast… love to namnam..

    Like

  7. Oh yes, a momma needs her solo time too. I am out of diaper bag stage but still have to worry about his food as my son is very finicky but know that this stage too will pass soon

    Like

  8. Mommies absolutely need to be ‘girls’ more often than they do now!!! That definitely spices life up a little. ‘walk around in style rather than run after my brat with flats and my dishevelled hair’ – ah! How nice that sounds , Deeps. When I see many of the mommies here dressed tip-top (:-)) with shiny brushed hair, I really wonder if they think I am a tribal woman πŸ™‚ (With no disrespect to the latter!) with my dishevelled hair and crumpled tee!

    Like

  9. I know what you mean, exactly!! I have been out of this state for a while now, but whenever I see a Mom with all that kiddy paraphernalia, a prayer goes up to the Lord, ‘Thank God that I am out of it’!! πŸ˜€
    But those were some days!! πŸ˜€

    Like

  10. everyone needs that ‘me-time’ i guess πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    glad you had fun … i know what a relief it was to meet up with my gal friends after a hectic week at office and home !

    and me no way going for the nappy-bag anytime soon !

    Like

  11. *nodding head vehemently* yes, yes, they (mommies) do need their me-time. I’m craving some gal pals and me-time, but that’s not happening before P starts school. Glad you got to let your hair down and have fun.

    Like

  12. Sounds like a lovely day and that you had a lovely time as well! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    yep – you need time for yourself too and girlfriends are the best! πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. Seriously! There is something liberating about not having to carry the diaper bag or the buggy, or worry about 101 kiddy related things. I realise it more when I go(occasionaly) grocery shoopping with daughter πŸ™‚ It is so much easier to get it done when she is at school πŸ™‚ As for girlie parties – they are a such a must πŸ™‚ I love meeting up with friends and talking about everything under the sun πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. Thats so true…mommies need days like this to rejuvenate themselves… πŸ™‚ Its lovely to meet up with girls gang…so I hope u had a gr8 time. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

