Thursday Challenge- 4 ( NaBloPoMo- Take 9)

Today’s theme for Thursday Challenge
“PETS” (Dogs, Cats, Birds, Fish,…)

Let me introduce you all to Bronco who is technically my parents’ pet but Namnam insists he is hers instead :). Although he has been around for about 8years, I never got a chance to introduce him for formally. Thanks to this week’s theme I can do that now.

Bronco

I have never grown up with pets around so when my parents called up one fine day, some 8years back, to tell us that one of their friends’ pet had given birth to a pup and that they had decided to bring him home and raise him, I was a bit taken aback. For two reasons. One, while I was happy that they had found a reason to keep themselves occupied, I was not sure how well they will take this new role and new addition in their nest.

Second being, I was petrified of dogs! And a prospect of being welcomed by a pup-growing-up-to-be-a-ferocious-dog during my visits home meant entering the house with reasonable amount of palpitations and shivers! Anyway I decided to keep my palpitations and shivers to myself so long as I could see how thrilled my parents were to have Bronco in their life. Especially my father.

My father, has always been a dog-loving person. Whenever we visited homes of friends who had dogs as pets, while my mother & I preferred to sit as far away from the dogs as possible with both our legs perched on the sofas, my father and brother could spend hours playing with them. Oh yes, my brother, too is a huge dog-lover.

So it was only natural that my father welcomed Bronco with open arms. And surprisingly my mother too accepted him lovingly. So much so that they would talk to him as though a parent would talk to his/her son. With all the cuddly words and pamperings and even addressing themselves as ‘Achan’ and ‘Amma’.

I remember how petrified I was the first time I went home after Bronco’s arrival. I had convinced myself that I was going to get bitten or scratched or ‘dog-handled’, but was pleasantly surprised when all he did was just sniff me and meekly give me way to enter home. I still couldnt gather enough courage to fondle him though or go near him but it was a welcoming introduction :).

However whats hard to miss though is his devotion for my parents, especially my father. When I see my father doting on him and tending to his minutest needs, I realize theres so much of love and affection involved in that relationship.

So heres to Bronco!

18 thoughts on “Thursday Challenge- 4 ( NaBloPoMo- Take 9)

    1. I love dogs and We have 2 of them back home German shepherds … Beautiful BronCo looks handsome …
      My dad was the same I secretly think Papa loved the dogs more then he loved Me 😦

      D: Ha ha you think secretly and I tell my father openly that he loves Bronco more than me πŸ˜€

      Like

  1. Our whole family loves dogs! We had a dog for 11 years and now, we keep others’ dogs when they are away from home. We feel it will be difficult for us to bring up a new dog!

    Yes, here at home, we are appa amma for our dogs and cats too! They have annas, aththes and maamas too!

    So Namnam likes dogs! She is going to enjoy her holiday more with your parents now! German shepherds are very friendly dogs, even if they are huge!

    D: Oh Sandhya, the prospect of meeting Bronco and playing with him is invariably one of the major attractions for Namnam whenever we visit home πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Bronco is a handsome, big guy!
    Aaryan would love to play with him. I’d not be scared but for me it’s like, “Stay away’!! πŸ˜›

    D: Yeah, ‘stay away’ would be more like it for me too πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. Bronco looks so grand! Kunju is totally impressed by Namnam’s pet πŸ™‚

    I always wanted a pet when I was little. I used to pick up stray pups from the streets and smuggle them home, much to Amma’s chagrin πŸ™‚ Finally she gave me the ultimatum, me or the pup stays πŸ™‚

    But funnily now, I seem to have lost my enthusiasm for pets, probably, now I also realize the amount of hard work that goes in πŸ™‚ And Kunju so far, is very clear, she loves toy dogs, not real ones πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I feel the same when it comes to dogs . But here I am left alone with Ruby’s pet and nobody else to care him but me πŸ™‚ Now I am not that afraid of them . Means I don’t scream loud even though I shiver as much in my mind πŸ™‚

    But we really change when we see the dog’s love towards their owner or care taker . That is my experience .

    Bronco is so cute er… ?? photogenic !! :))

    Like

  5. Thst a royal one! Ye ayea i can almost identify with what u say.. I share teh same love – hate relation with them :-D. But yea the warmth, the luv they bring i hv heard is unparlelled… I hv manage dtill now to kepp m ahubbs from brunging one home… lemme wait n c how ling i succed πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. Why have you closed comments on the latest post? Have we been spamming you too much πŸ™‚

    D: No, da, not at all! I love being spammed, you know that! Just that the post was more along the lines of me talking to myself and I dint think any of you would be interested to leave a comment in there :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

