Sometimes its best to leave some songs untouched! ( NaBloPoMo- Take 13)

Most of you must have guessed by now as to what prompted me to say that. Yes, I’m talking about this new trend of flicking old hindi songs and redoing them.

The first song that comes to my mind is yeh mera dil from Don, composed superbly by RD Burman originally but redone years later by Shankar Ehsaan Loy. Ok now here I agree it was not exactly redone, simply resung and maybe a little remixed with a jazz here and bass there by another singer. The song was not disturbed, per se. Nor were the lyrics. Which was fine for the ears of a devout RDB fan like me. I wont say I loved it but I liked it partly because I felt Sunidhi Chauhan did her best to do justice to the original version and I absolutely adore her voice. Of course, if asked to choose between the two I’ll pick Asha Bhonsle’s rendition any day.

But there is another song from the movie which has been redone in the true sense of the word. It is Khaike paan banaaraswala which sounds so peppy and cheerful in the original version sung by Kishore Kumar but sadly sounds so pathetic ( to my ears) in the redone version. Every time I hear the song I wonder why, whyever was there a need to redo that song? Was it not bad enough that the classic movie was remade? Why redo a song also and make it worse?

Just watch this song, dont you just feel like getting up and joining Amitabh Bachan and his gang to shake a leg or two? Why, a non-dancer like me is tempted!

And now watch this song..

Get my point?

What prompted me to write this post is another song that is being splashed all over the music channels movie theaters and being fiercely promoted by the movie makers- Dum Maaro Dum, a miserable rework of yet another RDB masterpiece from Hare Rama Hare Krishna.

Call me old fashioned but I just cant get myself to liking this new trend. And I dont even want to get started on the trend of movie-remakes. I hated Don. We all know what a dud Umrao Jaan- 2 was. And now I hear the movie makers are planning a remake of Satte Pe Satta. πŸ™„

Some songs and movies are so timeless that its best if left as they are. What do you think?

22 thoughts on “Sometimes its best to leave some songs untouched! ( NaBloPoMo- Take 13)

  1. Truly TRUE.. what you say .. how can KAreena kapoor or whoever it was be Helen.. She was a class apart …

    and Khaike paan banaras wala .. Amitabh is a class again.. and SRK no hard feelings or disrespect he has only one style of delivering dialogues and i jsut dont like him .. He may be a great guy but DOn was not as good as Old DON.

    D: Hi5 on your take on SRK, Bik! I’m not at all a fan of SRK’s acting. I find him way more interesting and charming off screen πŸ™‚

    and Zeenat in Dum maro dum.. oh many how many days we spent hoping and preying to get her… wishing we get her πŸ™‚

    yes they are best left alone, remakes dont do that much, what they shud do is take the plot and maybe do something else with the story .. Cause a exact remake always makes the viewer compare the Two …

    Like

  2. If that is being old-fashioned, am with u too Deeps πŸ˜‰ Esp. on the 2nd one!
    Agree there are a few remixes which brought more glory to the older ones, like ‘Bin tere sanam’, but such timeless melodies should be left as they are.
    And movie remakes, sigh! I so wish and pray they dnt do it with Satte Pe Satta πŸ™„

    Like

    1. Yes, swar, its acceptable if you try to make an ‘ok’ song a bit more interesting by adding some beats and rhythm( but NO raps please) to it. But classic?? Thats so not cool!

      Like

  3. I was waiting for someone to bash up the new Dum Maro Dum. The new version is absolutely disgusting, cacophonous and the dance steps (if it can be called so!!) are downright third-rate, both in vulgarity and creativity!!! Like you said so rightly, Deeps, I wish they would just leave some songs untouched.

    Btw, girl, love the new look of your blog!

    Like

    1. Vulgar, thats what I felt too when I saw the video. Did you pay attention to the rap, Pal..goes something like ‘ aaj mere lie chain kheechrahai hai, kal skirt kheechega’ and then something even more gross like ‘oonche se ooncha banda, potty mai baithe nanga’ YUCK YUCK YUCK! I’m not entertained in the least bit by these words in fact am actually disgusted by this third-rate show of creativity. The more I think about it the more I fume! I think this is an insult to the creators of the original song.

      Like

      1. But its true innit! the thing about sitting πŸ˜›

        D: Yeah sure, what an info to impart that too through a classic song like dam maro dum! πŸ™„ BTW, Rakesh, why am I not surprised by this ‘brrrrilliant observation by you?? 😈

        Like

  4. Helen can never be treated as an item girl! She never looks vulgar in any type of clothes or any body movements! Love this song!

    I feel very sad to hear or see the old classics in re-mixed version. Are these music directors short of imagination? Definitely, no sane person will like the distorted classic melodies.

    D: Thats exactly how I feel, Sandhya! The music directors clearly seem to be short of imagination.

    No one can act or dance like Amitabh did in this song! What you say is right, everybody will feel like shaking their hips slightly at least for this song! Shah Rukh looks sick in this song!

    Dum maaro dum is my all-time favourite. We have to sway a little at least when we hear the song. I hate the new version!

    Satte pe Satta remake? They are bent on losing money!

    Even my sons hate the remixes! Both of them love the old ones!

    Like

  5. The original Dum Maro Dum is an institution in itself. If you listen carefully, each beat, each string is so perfect and in place… Just love the original one.

    RDB was ahead of his time certainly.

    But I’d still prefer the meaty Kareena in place of Helen. I know, Helen might be a great dancer but Kareena was delicious πŸ˜›

    Like

  6. In Tamil movies, remakes of movies have always been hopeless but songs have been remixed brilliantly. I can recall at least a couple of songs that were even better than the original. Perhaps, it depends on who does the remix and who sings.

    Like

  7. Hmmmm now now what do I say… I personbally do not hv a ear for music unlike hubbs n yea the litt bit I hear at times makes me bang ma head when a rare song I enjoy is modified so much tht it makes me cringe :-/

    Like

  8. I totally agree! I like SRK(make it used to like), but could not stand him in Don – in the ongs – haven’t watched the movie.. I don’t understand why they do this? Make a rehash of a classic and destroy it 😦 Some songs and movies should just be left as is!

    Like

  9. Totally agree with u….I hate hate hate the latest dum maro dum song….its horrible and Deepika sucks in it…

    Let the (g)old ones be ppl….dont try to meddle with them…make something of your own – is my humble req to those movie makers.

    Like

  10. There’s one more such remake in the making.. ‘Golmaal 4’ which will be based on the original Golmaal… it would be really sad to see a gem movie being remade into a shabby work…

    Like

Leave a Reply

