A sense of uncertainty mixed with a sense of hope for the coming year…

This is how I feel as each year draws to a close.

Uncertainty because theres always a sense of jitteriness about what the future may hold, and hope because, despite the uncertainty, there is this unfailing hope that everything will be fine….just fine. Although I have no control over life’s unpredictability, there’s this want to start the new year with a fresh perspective, on a happy note, all the while telling myself that the coming year will have far better things to offer than the previous one.

This year in particular being a little rough on me and my family, what with the surgeries and constant health-scares to have plagued my parents, the anticipation of what’s in store for me in the coming year is even more so.

Yet, this is one time of the year when I feel extremely positive because it is such a beautiful time of the year, isnt it? Everything- from the lovely weather to the wide array of festivals to the smiling faces of people to the well-illuminated houses to the beautiful decorations adorning all the malls and roads, not to mention the promotional-flyers of supermarkets and malls finding a space in between the sheets of my newspaper every other day alerting me of their festive offers and sales-every single thing seems to cheer me on towards staying positive, staying happy :).

When, R & Namnam geared up to set up the christmas tree a few days back, what set me thinking was how little it mattered that we didnt follow the religion that normally was associated with christmas. What mattered was how symbolic the festival was with happiness and cheer. In fact a friend and I were even discussing about how this was one of those festivals which transcends religion, caste and creed…how over the years, it had come to mean more about staying happy, spreading joy and being hopeful of better things to come than the birthday of Jesus Christ.

In this world where there are diverse religions, festivals are occassions which reiterate their co-existense.

When my Punjabi friend comes upto me to wish “Happy Onam’ or when I hug my Arab friend to wish her,’ Eid Mubarak’ or when an American joins his Sikh friend to burst crackers on Diwali, or when, in an Islamic country like Qatar, I find malls and retaurants beautifully decorated with christmas trees and stars or when I find ‘konnappoo‘ being sold in shops around Vishu

Konnappoo (image courtesy Google Images)

it makes me realize how beautifully religions can co-exist in this world. How we can respect each other’s religion without having to compromise on our ideologies and beliefs.

And this is the time of the year when I miss being home the most for I know how beautifully festive my city looks all around. In fact the yearning to fly down to soak in the festivities starts to creep inside me much earlier…when the second half barely trickles in. With so many festivals lined up one after the other my heart fills with so much of happiness that as the year closes in, more than feeling sad about bidding the current year goodbye, I find greater joy in looking forward to the coming year with more fervour.

On that note leaving you with our Christmas tree and heartfelt wishes that the coming year will have loads of joy and happiness in store for you and your loved ones πŸ™‚

Wish you a Merry Christmas and a very happy & a blessed New Year πŸ™‚
31 thoughts on “A sense of uncertainty mixed with a sense of hope for the coming year…

  1. Wishing you a very merry Christmas.. And happy new year to you and family and everyone around you….
    Yes u r right religion can be auch a lovely thing but alas.. Anywy this is happy post so happy happy wishes yayyyyy…

    And why get jittery over future.. God os great let him worry about it and let us all have some fun..

    Like

  2. Deeps, you’ve expressed the uncertainty and hope for me too, beautifully, I must add. There is much, this year that I am glad to be leaving behind, even though I have been blessed like perhaps no other year, and have gained much, like no other πŸ™‚ Still, each year, I look forward, to that unfolding that comes with the new year πŸ™‚
    Wishes of the season to you and yours, and hugs to little Namnam πŸ™‚ Pssst… has Santa readied himself with her gifts? Do you do that too, at christmas? πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Ushus..hugs! We didnt keep any gifts this year under our tree, Ushus, she did get her share of goodies from our christian familiy friends when we had gone to their house though. She and her friends gathered were quite thrilled when they picked their gifts from under the tree :).

      Like

  3. Merry Christmas!! πŸ™‚
    You have said everything so beautifully!!
    I am excited about 2012! I was excited about 2011 and the year has been one filled with a lot of uncertainities, joy and of course the ups and downs!
    The tree is beautiful!

    Season’s Greetings to you and your family Deeps! Best wishes always! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I love love your tree πŸ™‚ was checking out each ornament and I think I like that guy perched on the elf shoe the most πŸ˜†

    Give your brain a rest for a few days na? The jobless brain is the culprit I tell ya…which makes us worry unnecessarily πŸ˜›

    hugs and may the coming year bring health and wellness to everyone in your family

    Like

    1. You’re so right, saksh..I really need to give my brain which has been working overtime to cook up negative thoughts, some serious rest :). Thanks so much, sweetheart..hugs and much love to you, M & my darling Sammy :).

      Like

  5. Merry Christmas to you too… I feel like I am visiting friends, and your home, your blog is looking festive with that header! Agree with all you’ve said about diversity, like they say, joys shared do multiply.

    Like

    1. Aww, thank you so much, IHM, am so glad you feel that way πŸ™‚ Hugs, tight hugs! I have been sensing this festive spirit all through the blogosphere. Feels so wonderful πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. I so loved the ‘feel-good’ factor about this post. One of the reasons why I love celebrating festivals has far less to do with rituals and much more to do with the family gathering, the togetherness and the fun associated with it πŸ™‚ While I was in Kerala, I used to celebrate Onam, Xmas and new year all with the same gusto…irrespective of the religion…

    Wish you a wonderful Christmas and lots of joy in the coming new year πŸ™‚ Hugs!

    Like

    1. Thank you, dearie.. hugs! πŸ™‚

      Same here..even I have grown up celebrating Onam, Diwali, Xmas, New Year with the same spirit :). I remember looking forward to having carol singers over to my house every Christmas, welcoming them and the Santa, of course and Amma offering them all black coffee and some snacks right after their renditions :). Last year also Ma had some carol singers over from her school, luckily we were there too, and we had put up a christmas tree as well, so Namnam could also get a feel of it :). Which reminds me of a funny thing I used to do back then..when I was not so big, but big enough to know about the actual fact about Santa. Every time the singers came home with Santa, I used to look at him intently to see if I could recognize the ‘real’ person behind that snowy-white beard and hat! Used to be such fun! πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Isnt that a wonderfully positive post…hope all is well at the family..but I loved the way you brought out the oneness in the celebrations around the world πŸ™‚

    Thats a lovely X mas tree…ek dum zhakaas πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. My parents had had to undergo some surgeries, RM, so things had been a little rough. By the grace of God they are fine now..minor health hiccups do occur though but manageable so far. Thanks so much for asking, re :).

      Zhank yoou for liking my zhakaas xmas tree πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. Deepu,
    Here’s wishing a very very happy, healthy and prosperous New year to you , Nammu baby and R.
    A very special Happy New year to my most loved teacher and Uncle for a very very healthy and peaceful and prosperous year, love and Hugs.. rekha

    Like

  9. What you have written about this festival being celebrated crossing all religions. I too did a post on Christmas with a beautiful song and this is the first time I am doing so, seeing all of you celebrating this festival even though most of you are non-christians. I thought I should also join in.

    I am late here, so I wish you and your family a happy, prosperous and peaceful New Year! Special wishes to Namnam paappa!

    Like

  10. It’s a lovely post Deeps!!!!! As I started out reading I was grinning to myself thinking abt a similar post I put up yesterday. But when I read more…not similar at all. Its wonderful to read the different end of the year reflections :-).

    Like

  11. Well uncertainties are a part of life, but dont worry, you will get the strength to maul past anything life hurls at you πŸ™‚ Its just the anticipation thats killing πŸ™‚
    And completely agree how religions are just a medium and they add such beauty to life. Wishing You, Namnam and R a very happy new year!! May you sail through the troubled waters. Take Care!

    Like

  12. Beautiful post Deeps! U r abs. Religion I think is all about being happy with yours’ and respecting others’.
    Happy and healthy 2012 to all of u at home too. Please convey my wishes to aunty, Uncle and Nammu’s mama too πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

