A Pineapple upside down cake to ward off the writer’s block!

This title was actually meant for a post I had planned for yesterday, but since I was too lazy to bake a pineapple upside down cake, my plan to use it as an antidote to shoo the dreadful writer’s block was put on hold! Thankfully I had a far more gratifying experience to note down that worked well in breaking the block instead.

Having said that, I still am too lazy to change the title and think of another one, so I’m simply letting it be πŸ˜€

Anyway talking of pineapple upside down cake, it was something I had been meaning to bake for quite sometime for the simple reason that it always looked gorgeously tempting on various food-blogs as well as on my baker-friends’ FB and other web-pages. But I-the lazy bug- neither got around to looking for its recipes on the net nor did I ask my friends for itΒ  thinking it would require of me to scrounge around the city for those hard-to-get, exotic ingredients and slog with them for hours! Somehow I always had this notion that the recipe would be a tough one to attempt. And to top it up, the literal mention of ‘pineapple upside down’Β  and the subsequent possibility of having the cake or the pineapple slices come sploching down on the floor while turning them always gave the clumsy-me shivers!

But last week while looking up some possible recipes for aΒ  simple pineapple cake that I could try for a friend’s daughter’s b’day I stumbled upon this recipe for a pineapple upside down cake also, which to my utter surprise was a very easy one. So I decided to give it a try this weekend, today to be more precise :). And I am glad I tried this one because my house was filled with a divine smell of baking all around, all through the day! Here is a peek to the cake, feel free to dive in! πŸ˜€

Edited to add the recipe! Or rather make that two recipes πŸ˜€

Betty Crocker had this easy recipe based on which I brought home all the ingredients. And then I stumbled upon another oneΒ  by Betty from Betty’s Kitchen, on YouTube which looked just as easy and doable. Although both the recipes were more or less same, baking while watching the video was far easier to follow than baking while reading, if you know what I mean :).

So heres the embedded video of Betty’s Tropical Joy Pineapple Upside down cake. Do let me know how it fared for you. And do share a picture of your cake if and when you bake it and leave a link to your post so I can come by to drool at it royally :D. Have a Happy baking weekend!

32 thoughts on “A Pineapple upside down cake to ward off the writer’s block!

  1. That looks so delicious! And recipe please! If it is simpler than the one I use – I would love to try it out πŸ™‚

    And that divine smell of baking – I have it here too πŸ™‚ It is divine, isn’t it:)

    Like

    1. Lol, IHM you are super-cute, you know that? And for being just that I will give you twice as big a cake piece as Bik’s!! See what a ‘dildaar’ I am πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. OMG! I just died drowning in my own drool!!!

    Have always toyed with the idea of Pineapple Upside down cake…. but somehow, never managed the guts for it….

    Listen Deeps, can I shift into your neighbourhood?

    Like

    1. Come over girls, I’ll bake whatever it takes to have you as my neighbours :D. Or if not neighbours come for a visit and stay with us! Namnam will be thrilled to bits, I’m telling you..and so will I be πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. The cake looks really yummy…..and I’m buying pineapple all the time. Deeps I give u full credit….u have convinced to bake a Pineapple upside down cake πŸ˜›

    All this while Smitha Princess cake was in my brain now it is replaced with ur PUDC πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. Uffffffff…………….. Baking pics and that too sooooooooooooooooooooo gorgeous!!!! No FAIR!! rrrrrrr…. Ab mujhe kuch bake karna hi padega… huh

    Like

  5. Wow! That looks so juicy and perfectly done and yummmmmmmm.
    I admit – I am a very clumsy person too. First of all, I am just beginning to think if I should start baking. I am looking around at recipes on food blogs and thinking that I should try out making a cake some time. I haven’t baked anything much except pizzas with the OTG I have at home. Such a waste! 😦 That said, I am scared that I will turn an upside-down cake upside down, and it will just fall on the floor and break into pieces. 😦 Still, the recipe (and the pic) on your blog and Smitha’s is tempting me to try out making this cake. SOON that too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

