The Lanka Sojourn- Part 4 (Bentota)

And here I am with my final part of the travelogue before the year is over, as promised πŸ˜€

Part 3 can be read here,

Part 2 here and

Part 1 here

*******

So after a blink n miss visit to Nuwara Eliya, we set out at 7 in the morning for Bentota, a beach town.

Here again it was a long long drive which took us about 7 hours to get to our destination, despite travelling through the newly built expressway. But this time I didnt let that dampen my spirits, even though I was being sprayed with bullets of ‘when will we reach?’, ‘how much more time left?’, ‘where is the beach?’, ‘are we there yet?’ from Namnam.

Oh c’mon! We were heading to a beach town. Beaches- our favourite holiday destination. We couldnt let anything kill that excitement for us, could we? Not even a long stretch of road!

So off we zoomed, halting on the way to pick up some yummy Rambutans (which tasted very much like lichees) from a street-side fruit-seller

Rambutans
Rambutans

and then for lunch, where we got to taste some finger-licking devilled-chicken with rice and later on some delicious Helapas, a sweet dish wrapped in banana leaves!

At around 2 in the afternoon we reached Avani Bentota Resort & Spa, a beautiful resort tucked cozily by the beautiful Bentota beach. The very fact that the resort opened out to the beach was enough for us to fall in love with the delightfully refreshing surrounding. We checked in to a spacious room that had a balcony boasting of a lovely view of the swaying palm-trees and the sea.

DSC_0606

And for the next 3 days we had a completely relaxing and rejuvenating time, just the kind of break we needed. Most of our time was spent lazing around the beach. Even though there were red flags put up at every few meters on the beach cautioning us of heavy tides, it didnt stop us from venturing out to enjoy a little bit of splash of our own every now and then :).

Let me not do any more talking and rather let some of the images talk to you all instead…

Avani Bentota Beach Resort..
Avani Bentota Resort & Spa..
There's my monkey learning to climb a tree!
There’s my monkey learning to climb a tree!

DSC_0613

DSC_0654

Nooooo, dont wash away my drawing...
Nooooo, dont wash away my drawing…

And on days when we felt unsafe going to the beach, we either lounged by the pool

Avani Bentota Beach Resort
Avani Bentota Resort & Spa

or stepped out to explore the vicinity.

IMG_2025

Even though there were many water-sports activities that one could indulge in, we weren’t very keen on trying any. The only outdoor activity we did was go on a boat-ride for a mangrove tour on the Bentota river.

DSC_0740

Now that looks eerie, doesnt it?
Now that looks eerie, doesnt it?
Thats a water monitor we met on the way and said hello to :)
Thats a water monitor we met on the way and said hello to πŸ™‚
And a crocodile too. Do you see the small black streak in the water? Yep, thats the one!
And a crocodile too. Do you see the black streak in the water? Yep, thats the one!

DSC_0761

feeding the fishes in the resort-pond
feeding the fishes in the resort-pond

DSC_0838

Waves coming at me, are you?
Waves, coming at me, are you?

DSC_0840

DSC_0854

DSC_0872

DSC_0874

With the mornings largely being spent drenching ourselves, and soaking in the sun, the evenings were about listening to the lilting sound of the waves lapping against each other, feeling the soft cool brush of air with a book in hand to engross in...
With the mornings largely being spent drenching ourselves, and soaking in the sun, the evenings were about listening to the lilting sound of the waves lapping against each other, feeling the soft cool brush of air with a book in hand to engross in. Perfect way to unwind!

With this its a wrap on a reliving recount of a truly memorable holiday πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “The Lanka Sojourn- Part 4 (Bentota)

  1. oh what a wonderful post Deeps…made me smile throughout…I loved Namnam in that red dress…I wish R develops this love for water some time in her life πŸ™‚

    Glad you finished Part 4 before the start of the new year!!!

    now get back to regular blogging…you are missed πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Oh I miss being around too, sweetie! And I miss reading you most of all! Way too many things happening all around, dont know when I will get to sit and relax in front of the comp and indulge in some blog-hopping like before :(.

      Like

  2. I too really need a vacation right now but I don’t think I am going to get it anytime soon. 😦
    Beautiful pictures by the way. I really liked the fact that you stayed so close to the beach.

    Like

  3. Aww awesome break! felt like taking one myself πŸ™‚
    Hope you enjoy manyyyyy more like them and we get to read the travelogues πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Beach resorts are da besht!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    A water monitor??? Brrrr!! 😐 *shudder*

    Love those candid shots of Nam-nam with the waves πŸ™‚

    Rambutans?? They also LOOK like litchees, don’t they?

    Sri Lanka looks so alarmingly similar to south India, isn’t it?

    Like

  5. Di, read all 4 parts today…u have made sure that we plan out a Srilanka trip sometime soon…:)
    I can see Namnam having a real good time…was just imagining our lil Love and the waves….magical it’ll be. πŸ™‚

    N yes, look forward to your regular posts…:)

    Like

  6. NamNam playing in water made me smile πŸ™‚ god bless her..

    you remember all of it wow, I usually forget everything πŸ™‚

    now i have to go to lanka tooooo… How will i manage to go to all these place everyone keeps on going to .. I need to win a lotto ..
    or maybe Deeps will be so nice that next time she will ask me to tag along πŸ™‚ he he he he he

    Like

  7. Wow Deeps, lovely pics all! The rambutans, minus the thorny hair, even look a little like litchis! And oh I just loooove beach resorts–the bestest place to relax and rewind πŸ™‚ And Namnam looks totally adorable!!

    Like

  8. AWESOME! Loved the snaps, loved Namnam more πŸ™‚ She looks like a darling πŸ™‚
    I returned from Sri Lanka and cant thank you enough! I mentioned a little thanks in part 1 of my Sri Lanka tales on my blog now. Hope that’s okay πŸ™‚

    Bentota sounds very very rejuvenating! Oh, I am so going back to SL again πŸ™‚

    and Namnam in that pink frock – cuteness πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Yes Sandhya, it was one of the most memorable holidays for us. In fact you know Namnam and I had gone back to SL on our way back from India on the same trip for a second round of fun! It was such fun roaming around and shopping :D.
      Thank you so so much for reading all my posts and leaving yoir comments. You’re a sweetheart, you know! Will hop by to read your travelogue too as soon as I am back from the winter hols. Happy Holidays! ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply

