Post Vishu Post

Not a very interesting title I know! But if I sit here and keep glaring at the screen for some more time pondering over a more suitable title, then I might just lose whatever little drive I have gathered to write a post and shut the window down yet again! This is probably the 10th…or is it 2oth…or 50th..attempt  I am making to revive my blog in the last two months. Argh! I have no clue what I am going to type. I’ll simply let my fingers tap the keyboard in whatever direction my mind wants them to…

Vishu, since it fell on a working day, was spent like any other day. R went to office, Namnam to school. However Namnam got her vishu-kaineettam before heading off to school. Even though I made semiya-payasam(kheer), a more lavish-sadya/feast has been put off for the coming weekend with friends.

So what have I been upto in the last two months? Nothing much.

To take off from my last post, the bother’s wedding went off well, we all had a wonderful time welcoming the new member into our family 🙂

TGND, the above pic is of my brother and his wife holding hands. The image I shared in the previous post was a random one uploaded from Google images :). I’m sorry I couldn’t reply to you then 🙂

We got back and it was time for Namnam to begin her new academic year as a second grader. With it began the realization that my daughter was growing bigger, and with that began growing concerns of a learning parent. Concerns about keeping  the child from getting negatively influenced by her closest friends without distancing her from them, about lying and being honest with herself and people around her, about learning to be bolder, more assertive…concerns that warrant a separate post altogether, or ‘posts’ to put it plurally. Sigh!

The one good thing to have come out of my self-imposed hibernation though, is the amount of reading I have been able to do. In the last two months I have finished reading  6 books!

Hey all you voracious readers, I can hear your muffled laughter at seeing that puny number-count,  ok! But trust me, for a slow and a lazy reader like me this is a huge number :D!

And it is purely because all of the books that I have read so far have been thoroughly engaging and riveting.

Thats that then, of this  mish-mash of a post. The weekend is almost here. I’m yet to buy veggies needed for tomorrow’s vishu potluck. So off I go now!

Hopefully with a new week I’ll have something newer and more interesting to share…

Till then bye-bye!

14 thoughts on “Post Vishu Post

  1. Though R got the Vishu Kaniattam, we didnt celebrate this year because of RD’s uncle death..but I made payasam *psstt..thats a secret!* I am so lusting after that avial you are going to have..yummmmmm

    That picture of your bro and bhabhi looks really sweet..hand holding can be so romantic na!

    Which six books..bolo bolo?

    Bringing up children is VERY VERY difficult gah!

    Like

    1. I started off with The Reluctant Fundamentalist, then The Twentieth Wife, (thanks to Smits’ reco), then Jeffrey Archer’s Only Time will Tell and its sequel Sins of the Father- amazing two books BTW, then a thriller by Anita Nair, Cut Like Wound and most recent being The Kite Runner :). Now I am waiting to read Jeffrey Archer’s 3rd sequel and Indu Sunderasan’s Feast of Roses, both of which are with Amma at the moment. She is raving about them, so I cant wait to start reading! 🙂

      Like

  2. Congratulations once again Deeps on your brothers wedding. That’s quite a number of books you have read. I am a huge fan of ‘Kite runner’ and yet to find a heart wrenching book like that, have you also read Khalid Hosseinis ‘Thousand splendid suns’, it is also a very touching novel but nothing beats ‘kite runner’.

    take care

    Like

  3. Namnam is already in 2nd grade…I remember your post on namnam first day to school…the pic…girls grow very fast…..love to namnam and all the best for the new year…..hugs baby….

    Like

  4. Thank you everyone for coming here and boosting my spirit to write again.

    Had quite a hectic weekend. The Vishu sadya was well feasted on however 🙂

    Have a great Sunday ahead!

    Like

  5. I haven’t written in a long time either!! Dont know why?
    I haven’t been that busy either!! Sigh!
    Congrats once again on your brother’s wedding 🙂

    hugs!
    But, keep writing – even if its just 2 lines!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

