Rambling #7- Have you ever…

Experienced a word-block?

Dont give me a puzzled look. Oh, I’m talking about the situation where a word is right there at the tip of your tongue but you just can’t remember it! I had such a moment today! I can’t tell you how helpless and desperate a moment it was, where I knew oh-so-well the word I was looking for but I just couldn’t get it out of me.

Ma & I were coming out of a salon after a good pampering session. As we walked to the parking lot, I sensed that my orientation was a bit disheveled and I couldn’t remember where I had parked my car. Of course it just took a few seconds to get my bearings right and we got to the car.

What I didn’t see coming was the complete blanking out of the word “orientation” when I started to describe Ma my brief disoriented state. No amount of racking my head could get me to pull that word out from whichever nook it was hiding. I kept explaining the state in long drags of sentences, whereas all I needed was that one word to get my point across! My memory was throwing out words like configuration, illusion, allusion, at me. But “orientation” was nowhere in sight. Ma, sensing my helplessness, pulled her tablet out and punched in a few catch-words online. Voila! There it was. My orientation!

Gosh, the day is almost over! I had better publish if I have to be in the game!

BTW, I realize that I am yet to reply to your comments. I have at least been able to “like” them as a mark to tell you that I truly appreciate you coming by and leaving your thoughts. The days: Β have been whisking by even before I could think of pausing for a while. I will get to replying as soon as I can:)

Good night!

Edited to add: Just found out that this is my 300th post! Feels surreal to think that a few weeks ago, I had almost deleted my blog πŸ˜€

february ramblings

6 thoughts on “Rambling #7- Have you ever…

  1. congrats deeps on the triple centuryy yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy πŸ™‚

    I am so very bad at words you wont believe it … and recently i have also started to forget my memory sucks big timeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 300! Congrats on that. This word block happens a lot to me and in worse ways than this. *shakes head remembering*
    I really like the ‘like’ feature for precisely this. you can let the commentators know you have read the comments. I am really glad you are persevering with the ramblings πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Shail! You have no idea how charged up you have got me with this fun challenge πŸ™‚ Even though it does get a bit hard at times trying to to keep up with the pace, I’m still enjoying this, thoroughly. I would so not want to give up! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 300 ?? WOW !!! Congrats on that…and never dare to delete this wonderful space of yours πŸ™‚
    Oh…ask me about word block !! I am ok with it when I write – the words just flow through !! But when I talk the words always play with my block πŸ˜› Hugs πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

