My first camping field trip to Umm Al Qwain

Hi, I would like to tell you all about my school camping trip . This should tell you what my overnight field trip was like. I hope you enjoy my blog. Have fun!! – Namya

Day 1
Let me start with the bus trip. We were divided in four groups right before we boarded. I was in group four.

I sat with my group. After a while, I took out my book to entertain myself. I must have read for what seemed like five to ten minutes, when my friend Salinaa, a girl in my class, remembered that she had some dice and suggested we make a game or two. We played one of the games we “invented” for a while, but got bored after sometime, so we just sat there without doing anything.

We reached Umm Al Qwain by noon. Then we arranged our bags on the pavement.

Mr Ham, our PE coach and Ms. Gul, our activity teacher introduced us to our instructors.
They also gave us a briefing about the camp. Then we had free time when we were allowed to play outside with the sports equipment Mr Ram, the assistant PE teacher had brought with him.

After that, we had our room assignments. The girls and the boys buildings were separated. Later, once we got comfortable, we went to have lunch. I was really hungry which was very unusual since I’m never really hungry! I had a chicken burger, some French fries and some nuggets and a pack of juice.

After lunch we went swimming. There were too many of us so we had to be split into groups again. At the pool, groups one and two went first then it was the turn of three and four. When it was my group’s turn, Mr Ham jumped in the pool and everyone of us climbed on his shouler and we jumped into the pool too, squealing!

Then it was time to change for the dry land activities. Again we were separated by groups. The last two groups which were three and four had archery, low ropes and team building. These two groups were split into two groups. But first everyone did archery which was like an archery CLASS. Then we went to the team building area. Again we split into two groups. This time it was random.

I was in team building the first time. We had to do lots of exercises that required team work.
After that the other team came back from their activity and we swapped. So then we did low ropes. It was like an obstacle course where one of your team members did the course and the others stood beside watching.

After that it was free time. Later on it was time for dinner and again I was starving.

For dinner I had pasta with ketchup,nuggets, and some chocolate milk.  Then it was the talent show. I planned to do gymnastics with Salinaa. There was this Wendy act done by Aanya and her group which was hilarious! They won the first prize!!

After that it was bed time. There were two other girls, apart from Salinaa in my room, Olivia and Sofia who are good friends now. We talked well past the lights were off! Olivia and Salinaa were talking and stayed up late but not as late as me. I stayed up till 5:30!!

Day 2

When I woke up we had to straight away get to packing. I had packed all my stuff before I went to sleep so in the morning I just had to pack my sleeping bag before breakfast but it took me a long time before I could finish. So I was a little late for breakfast but I eventually made it.  I had cereal, toast, sausages and an egg. After that it was time for the next round of activities. My group had high ropes and team building scheduled for the day.

Team building was first where we did some fun activities. We had to get tangled up with the people in our group and the first group to get untangled was the winner. Then we were given some tubes and a ball. We had to get the ball to the other side of the field by rolling the ball through the tubes and when both the groups joined together we were able to get the ball to the other side.

After that we had high ropes. There were two sections. The first one was called the leap of faith. We had to climb up a ladder and then we would jump down while everyone else would pull the rope and the person who was jumping would not hit the wall.

Next was the bigger one. It was like a huge zip line that went all the way over to the other side of the field. Then we would stop right in the middle and another instructor would help us get back down. The zip line was really fast. And I enjoyed this particular activity the most!

After that it was time for lunch. Then we had to quickly get on the bus to head back. I checked one last time in my bag to see if I had packed everything. To my dismay I couldn’t find my library book and thought I had lost it. I was so upset that I began to cry as I realized how my mother would have to pay a fine if we couldn’t return the book.

I couldn’t search for much longer as we were getting late for our journey back. So our instructor assured me that if she found the book she would certainly inform my school.

Later I fell asleep in the bus. I woke up when the bus stopped at the petrol station. I wanted to wash my face but I used wet wipes.

Then we reached school by 230. My mother was waiting for me and to my surprise she didn’t scold me when I told her about the book. She even had a solution to the problem. She said we could buy another copy of the book and give it to the library as a replacement.

I reached home I checked my bag again and there I found my book! I was happy that I didn’t lose any of the things I had taken to the camp!

It was such a fun trip!!!!!!!!!!!

**

7 thoughts on “My first camping field trip to Umm Al Qwain

  1. What an amazing time you had, Namnam! And what wonderful writing! You write better than so so many grown ups! It was a wonderful write-up. I, for sure, throughly enjoyed reading all about your field trip 🙂 I’m going to show this to Anisha and I can guarantee that she’s going to be green with envy at all the fun you’ve had!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome writing style! I felt i was part of the camp. You had great time in the camp. Right? I am so so so happy you enjoyed every bit of it and also tried your hand at a number of new team Activities. My darling Namla is a very good writer. Proud of u darling!

    Like

Leave a Reply

