Its a small world!

I may have used this phrase many times before, whenever I have met people and discovered a common link somewhere during our niceties and conversations. Why, Facebook in itself is a world which makes you realize how true this one phrase is, isnt it? ‘Cos thanks to FB, anyone who knows someone you know will, at some point, end up knowing you and ‘fraandship-ing’! So, many a time I have disregarded this phrase for its flimsy representation.

But yesterday I realized how life can throw an amazing surprise at you and give such a wonderful meaning to the phrase.

It started with a school friend sending me a very short message on whats app asking about the exact name of the area I lived in. I answered him. But he had a different place in mind so we just left it at that. Then he messaged again mentioning about one of his childhood friends whose kids studied in the same school as Namnam. I wasn’t sure if he meant the same branch, or same school but different branch. So then we got chatting, and a couple of messages later I learned that the kids were indeed in the same branch. We got chatting some more, only to discover that the kids were not only in the same branch, but one of the kids was also in Namnam’s batch and this childhood school friend of my friend’s was already a dear friend of mine with whom I was connected though our kids’ school!

Until then, this dear friend and I had no knowledge that we had a common link with whom she was connected from Kerala, while I was connected from Delhi, and this link was now based in Chennai, while we were here sitting in Dubai trying to make sense of it all!

The games time chooses to play with you!

Anyway, the game is not over yet…

As if the moment hadn’t had enough of throwing enlightening surprises at us, I learned from the dear friend here that her husband was an alumni of my school, to which my other school friend was completely oblivious. We could pull out a few more names of friends and acquaintances that we commonly knew.  To say that we were at our wits’ end wouldn’t be an exaggeration. So this friend of mine with whom I had no prior connection was now connected through two different ways. Probably if we had dug some more of our respective lives, who knows we might have discovered some familial, ancestral connections even!

Well, much as it felt a li’l creepy, it was amazingly overwhelming.

It’s funny, isn’t it, how life puts you in different places at different junctures and then moves you around in different spheres over the course of your existence all the while connecting dots for you here and there, probably without you even realizing, and then one common thread comes right up, binding us all?

17 thoughts on “Its a small world!

  1. Yes Deeps, We are All Connected in this World. Many don’t realise this and still believe they are Supreme or Poor. And thanks to this wonderful chat WhatsApp and Facebook and Twitter, we get connected and inter connected and feel so good when our Acquaintances increase.
    Recently one of my school friends in Quatar got my cell number and called me. I was stunned and overjoyed to meet my childhood friend. She then added me onto our School BatchMates Group and Wow, within a few days, I communicated with all my School Friends and we chatted on Whatsapp and I am so thankful for this connection.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can imagine how it must have felt when this actually happened! 🙂
    I realized after 4 years of undergraduation that 2 of my closest friends were also my relatives. Ha ha, all this when we randomly discussed about having some wedding to attend the following weekend. And then we bumped into each other in the wedding hall. What a moment it was 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

